Jump to main content

Governor Appoints New UNC Board of Trustees Member

January 6, 2022

On Dec. 21, Gov. Jared Polis announced the appointment of University of Northern Colorado alumna Annette Martinez to UNC’s Board of Trustees. Her four-year term is pending confirmation by the Colorado General Assembly. 

“I'm pleased to welcome Annette to the Board of Trustees,” said Board Chairman Dick Monfort. “As an alumna, she has a familiarity with and deep love for UNC. These qualities combined with her leadership experience and vast talent position her to be an asset as we continue our important work to advance the university.”

Martinez, of Windsor, is a senior vice president with State Farm Insurance Companies where she has worked since 1988. During her career, she served in several leadership roles in both human resources and business operations, gaining considerable experience in leadership development, diversity and inclusion, organizational design and crisis management.

Martinez earned her bachelor’s degree in biological sciences from UNC. She serves on several professional and community boards, including as a board trustee for the National Crohn's & Colitis Foundation and executive member of the Latino Corporate Directors Association.  Her professional accomplishments include the National Diversity Council’s Power 50 Award in 2020 and 2021 and in 2018 she received both the Black Enterprise Top Corporate Diversity Executive award and the National Association of Female Executives Women of Excellence Award, Diversity Champion.   

"I am honored to be selected for this opportunity,” Martinez said. “UNC provided me with an amazing foundation and I look forward to serving the university and my community. President Feinstein and the board have set an exciting path for the university and I am proud to be a part of building that future with them."   

Martinez’s term runs through the end of 2025. She replaces former trustee Christine Scanlan, whose term ended in December. 

UNC's Board of Trustees consists of seven members appointed by the governor, plus a non-voting faculty member elected by peers and a student elected by peers. For more information, visit the board’s website 


Share UNC News