Jump to main content

Faculty Advisory Board

The Honors Curriculum Faculty Advisory Council (“FAC”) provides direction and guidance in developing and revising the honors curriculum requirements and in approving new honors courses. The FAC will:

  • Review Honors Program curriculum and related undergraduate research curriculum recommending updates and revisions as necessary to maintain the effectiveness of the Program and meet Honors Program goals.
  • Provide counsel to the Director of Honors pertaining to the development of faculty, academic, and curricular resources in support of the program.
  • Review curriculum changes proposed by the Director and recommend curriculum changes to the University College Curriculum Committee.
  • Promote the Honors Program within the University and regionally.
  • Strengthen the Honors Program learning community.
  • Strengthen and enhance the financial resources of the Honors Program.
  • Further the mission of the Honors Program.
  • Participate in Honors Program events.

The membership is comprised of at least 10 members, generally including the following:

  • McNair Scholars Director
  • Faculty Fellow for Undergraduate Research
  • Director for Life of the Mind
  • Director of Leadership Studies
  • One representative from the University Libraries
  • At least one current or recent Honors course instructor
  • Three representatives from at least three different Colleges

Terms of membership are one to three years, and are renewable.

Meetings are held at least once per semester.  Additional meeting may be called for by the Director for Honors and Scholars.


Current Honors Faculty Advisory Board 2018-19

  • Krista Caufman, McNair Scholars Director
  • Janice Dickensheets, Faculty Fellow for Undergraduate Research
  • Brook Blair, Director for Life of the Mind
  • James Keaton, Director for Leadership Studies
  • Brianne Markowski, University Libraries
  • Kristin Bovaird-Abbo, College of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Michael Kimball, College of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Donald Gundmondson, Monfort College of Business
  • Stephen Mackessy, College of Natural and Health Sciences