Jump to main content

COVID-19: News and Campus Updates | Fall 2021 Plans

In light of Campus closure and as a precautionary measure regarding COVID-19, Faculty Senate members are working remotely in an effort to best support our campus community. We appreciate your understanding as we prioritize health and safety. Updates will be published to UNC's COVID-19 information page as the situation develops.

Academic Policies Committee

The Academic Policies Committee shall consist of a minimum of five senators appointed by the Senate chair and confirmed by the Senate.
The chairs of the University’s Undergraduate Council (UGC), Graduate Council (GC), Liberal Arts Council (LAC), Professional Education Council (PEC), and the Vice President for Academic Affairs of the Student Senate shall be ex-officio (voting) members. The Chief Academic Officer (CAO) or his/her designee shall be an ex-officio (non-voting) member. The Committee’s responsibilities are to: consider the future development of the University in its broadest scope as it relates to academic programs and shall review and recommend formulation of goals, which it believes the University should seek in fulfilling its education mission; serve as a review committee for all matters which affect the academic policies of the institution, such as admission and graduation requirements, grading system, curriculum development, proposed new programs, academic standards and regulations, academic calendar, faculty evaluation, reduction in force policies, standards of professional ethics and the like; and receive and review reports and policy recommendations from the University’s UGC, GC, LAC, and PEC.  Recommendations on the approval of these reports and policy issues shall be prepared for consideration by the Senate.

2020-2021 Membership

Betty Cardona EBS Senator
Teresa Castro Student Senate
Charles Couch
Rachel Dineen Undergraduate Council Chair
Kathleen Dunemn Graduate Council Chair
Jubal Fulks PVA Senator
David Greene NHS Senator
Nancy Matchett Associate Provost 
Jaimie McMullen Professional Education Council Chair
Francie Murry EBS Senator
Nick Pullen NHS Senator
Anne Toewe PVA Senator/Committee Chair
Angela Vaughan EBS Senator
Tara Wood Liberal Arts Council Chair