Jump to main content

COVID-19: News and Campus Updates | Fall 2021 Plans

In light of Campus closure and as a precautionary measure regarding COVID-19, Faculty Senate members are working remotely in an effort to best support our campus community. We appreciate your understanding as we prioritize health and safety. Updates will be published to UNC's COVID-19 information page as the situation develops.

Faculty Grievance

Board Policy Manual Part 12 Faculty Grievance. 
2-3-1201(1)(a) Eligibility. All faculty members shall have the right to seek redress of grievances within the University community. Any grievant has the right to withdraw their formal grievance at any time.
2-3-1201(1)(b) Grievable Matters.
Grievable matters are those in which one or more faculty members in a specific instance allege(s) that a misapplication, misinterpretation, or other violation of a university policy or procedure adversely affected his or her/their academic freedom, professional reputation, compensation, and/or the advancement in the profession s/he/they represent or in other ways. In cases of dismissal of tenured faculty, the applicable procedures are those at 1-1-310 and 2-3-1101. In cases of contract non-renewal of all other faculty, the applicable procedures are those outlined in this policy.
• For the entire policy see Board Policy Manual Section 1-1-311 and 2-3-1201

2021-2022 Faculty Grievance Committee

Wesley Broadnax - PVA - 2020-2023
Jeffrey Brown|Chair - HSS - 2019-2022
Greg DeKrey - NHS - 2021-2024
Rachel Dineen - UL - 2019-2022
Lahcen Ezzaher - HSS - 2021-2024
Lauren Jacobson - PVA - 2021-2024
Jody Lawrence - EBS - 2020-2023
Stan Luger - HSS - 2019-2022
Jane Monson - UL - 2020-2023
Dawit Senbet - HSS - 2019-2022
Thomas Smith - HSS - 2019-2022
T.J. Tomlin - HSS - 2021-2024
Hasan Zaghlawan - EBS - 2020-2023