Jump to main content

Showcasing Graduate Research at UNC

Fall 2022 Maria Lahman Research Award winners

Three Minute Thesis participants

Hutchinson-Lahman Research Award Winners
Lisa Paulson, Emily Romero, Veronica Adams, (faculty) Maria Lahman, Ph.D., Caitlin McKnight and Lexi Wimmer (not pictured: Ashlee Kemp and Jeff Bowling) 

Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) Participants
Donna Lynch, Nyssa Thomassen, Karsen Gromm (second place), Lea Haverbeck Simon (first place) and Melissa Gibson-Steiner

On Dec. 6, 2022, the Graduate School hosted its first-ever Graduate Research Symposium in the University Center and in the Campus Commons. This event combined Graduate Research Evening and the second annual Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) competition.

Graduate Research Evening provides graduate students from across the university the opportunity to present their research projects. Participating graduate students are also eligible for the Hutchinson-Lahman Research Award.

The Three Minute Thesis is a professional development competition that spotlights the dissertation or thesis projects of doctoral or master's students at UNC. Students completing a dissertation or thesis in any UNC doctoral or master’s program are eligible to submit a 3MT® proposal.

The Graduate Research Symposium consisted of two opening sessions from research professionals. 

News stories from UNC Today: