Jump to main content

Governor Announces Trustee Appointment, Two Reappointments

Stephen Jordan, Janice Sinden, Dick Monfort

December 14, 2018

Colorado Gov. John Hickenlooper announced Thursday the appointment of Stephen M. Jordan, Ph.D., to the University of Northern Colorado Board of Trustees. 

Hickenlooper also reappointed current trustees Dick Monfort and Janice Sinden.

Above: Newly appointed trustee Stephen M. Jordan and reppointed trustees Janice Sinden and Dick Monfort. (Jordan photo courtesy of Metro State University)

Jordan, who earned a bachelor’s degree in Political Science from UNC in 1971, has over two decades of experience leading state universities. Last year, he retired as president of Metropolitan State University of Denver after 12 years at the helm. He previously served seven years as president of Eastern Washington University. Jordan replaces Kato Crews, whose term ended in June after being appointed a Magistrate Judge for the U.S. District Court of Colorado in Denver.

“I am tremendously excited for the opportunity to give back to the university that really set the stage for my career,” Jordan said. “I feel a special obligation to take advantage of the experience I have had in postsecondary education to assist the board and president in advancing the strategic mission and long-term health of the university.”

Jordan’s experience also includes serving as the chief executive officer for the Kansas Board of Regents; deputy executive director for Finance and Planning for the Arizona Board of Regents; adjunct faculty member at Arizona State University; and vice chancellor for Budgets and Facilities and assistant secretary to the Board of Regents at the University of Colorado Health Sciences Center.

Reappointed trustee Sinden is the CEO of the Denver Center for the Performing Arts, and the reappointed chairman of the board, Monfort, owns the Colorado Rockies Major League Baseball franchise. Both are UNC graduates.

UNC's Board of Trustees consists of seven members appointed by the governor, a faculty member elected by peers and a student elected by peers. For more information about the board, visit its website. For more information on Boards and Commissions, click here.

Share UNC News