Jump to main content

Presidential Search Committee Progresses on Leadership Characteristics

October 20, 2017

University of Northern Colorado’s presidential search committee met Friday as members continue to make progress on finalizing the characteristics sought in UNC’s next leader.

The 15-member group — composed of faculty, staff, students and UNC trustees — spent the meeting discussing the draft of the original 10 leadership characteristics shared with the campus and surrounding community as part of a survey.

The committee took the feedback from survey responses into account as they discussed the attributes vital to the position. A forthcoming revision will restate the characteristics to better reflect university priorities in identifying an ideal candidate who demonstrates requisite:

  • knowledge of the higher education environment
  • appreciation of UNC’s strengths (including diversity)
  • innovation as a priority (not just technology, but ways to improve)
  • energy, inspiration and engagement with people
  • a connection with Greeley and Colorado to catalyze collaborative action
  • a relationship builder with campus, alumni, donors, legislators, policymakers, public partners and the private sector
  • financial acumen
  • emotional intelligence (e.g., transparency, integrity, support, teachable, approachable, generous)
  • and climate, culture and community building

Next week, committee members will review the paraphrased list that was discussed at the meeting to ensure there aren't any gaps. The final characteristics will be announced at the trustees’ meeting Nov. 1 and shared with the search firm that will be selected by then in advertising the position, which became open after current president Kay Norton announced her retirement in September.

Search committee members

Trustees: Richard Monfort (chair), Paul Washington (vice chair), Anthony Salazar, Christine Scanlan, Kevin Ahern, Kato Crews, Janice Sinden, Vish Iyer (faculty trustee), Michael Kelly (student trustee)
Student Senate: Kevion Ellis (president), Malaika Michel-Fuller (student rights advocate)
Faculty Senate: Stephen Luttmann (chair), Anne Toewe (College of Performing and Visual Arts senator)
Professional Administrative Staff Council:  Shawanna Kimbrough-Hayward (chair)
Classified Staff Council: Margaret Kinney (chair)

Share UNC News