Jump to main content

2019-2020 Committee Membership

The College of Humanities and Social Sciences maintains the following committees. These committees are advisory to the Dean of Humanities and Social Sciences, with the exception of the Curriculum Committee, which has responsibilities described in Board policy provision, 1-1-304. Faculty committees elect their own chairs and develop their own bylaws consistent with college and university policy.

For information regarding serving on an HSS committee, please contact Dawit Senbet. For general questions, please contact Deborah Lewis.

Awards Committee

Members of this committee review applications for awards such as: Research, Scholarship, and Creative Works course releases in the fall, College Faculty Awards, Undergraduate Research Awards, and HSS scholarships in the spring. 

Elected Members

  • Karen Barton, Geography, GIS, & Sustainability (Spring 2022)
  • Whitney Duncan, Anthropology (Spring 2022)
  • Harmony Newman, Sociology/Gender Studies (Spring 2020)
  • Jessica Salo, Geography, GIS, & Sustainability (Spring 2021)
  • Diane Schott, Sociology (Spring 2021)

Other Members

  • Christine Marston, HSS Assoc. Dean, ex officio
  • Deborah Lewis, HSS Dean's Office, Administrative Support