Jump to main content

UNC Community Engaged Scholar Awards


Vickki Niccum

Elena Rosenfeld

Dr. Michael Kimball

David Mathieson & Savannah Cormier

Megan Bissell

2017 Engaged Scholar Awards

Michael Kimball Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Medical Anthropology

Vickki Niccum

Staff-Facilities Management, Manager, Landscaping & Grounds

David Mathieson

Graduate Student, Public Health

Savannah Cormier

Graduate Student, Public Health

Megan Bissell

Undergraduate Student, Sociology

Elena Rosenfeld

Associate Director of Community Engagement, High Plains Library District

Past Recipients


Awards for 2016 were awarded through the inaugural Mountain West Engagement Summit, a partnership with Campus Connect of the Mountain West.

Engaged Scholarship Award

James P. Walsh, Ph.D, University of Colorado Denver

Peter Simons Engaged Professional Award

Gretchen Wheeler, Casper College Center for Learning

Engaged Student Award

Deitra Sandy, Red Rocks Community College


Faculty: Whitney Ducan, Ph. D

Staff: Patrick McDonald

Community Partner: Armando Silva

Graduate Student: Meagan Cain

Graduate Student: Louise Benke

Undergraduate Student: Megan Stoneman


Faculty: Joyce Weil, Ph. D.

Staff: Sarah A. Berkman

Community Partner: Greeley Evans School District 6

Student: Meagan M. Cain

Social Science Research Award

The Award for Excellence in Social Science Engaged Research, launched in 2012, is the result of a generous endowment from Robert Brunswig, Rebecca Brunswig, and Ken Coleman. A new award of $1,000 is offered each year to a faculty member who has demonstrated exemplary scholarship in engaged research and civic engagement. This award is coordinated by the UNC Office of Research.


2017 Whitney Duncan-HSS, Anthropology

Past recipients of the Social Science Research Award.