Jump to main content

UNC Team Qualifies for National Ethics Bowl Competition

Student and faculty members of the 2019-20 UNC Ethics Bowl teams

November 18, 2019

On Saturday, Nov. 16, the Daniels Fund Ethics Initiative sponsored UNC in hosting the Rocky Mountain Regional Ethics Bowl where 10 teams from seven schools competed in an all-day ethics competition.

UNC Assistant Professor of Philosophy Bailie Peterson organized the event and coached two UNC teams that featured 10 students. Colorado School of Mines took first place in the competition, followed closely by the UNC team of Vanessa Salazar, Nate Evans, Rachel Lesser, Cole LeRoy and Daniela Mburunyeme. These two teams will face the top 36 college teams in the nation in February 2020 at the National Ethics Bowl in Atlanta.

The schools that competed in Saturday's competition included: UNC, Colorado College, Adams State College, Colorado School of Mines, University of Colorado - Colorado Springs, University of Nebraska- Lincoln and Colorado State University.

UNC Team 1 Ethics bowl winners
 UNC Team 1 members (from left to right): Vanessa Salazar, Nate Evans, Rachel Lesser, Cole LeRoy and Daniela Mburunyeme. These students will compete in the National Ethics Bowl in Atlanta in February of 2020.

Top Image: All of the UNC students who competed in the Rocky Mountain Regional Ethics Bowl competition.

Images courtesy of Salazar.

Bailie Peterson"I am so proud of each of these hard-working and talented students. Both teams received high accolades from the judges and coaches and demonstrated philosophical reasoning and great sportsmanship, even when the competition was tough," Peterson said (image at right). "Thanks to the Daniels Fund Ethics Initiative, DFEI student ambassadors, administrative assistants, moderators and judges, without whom we could not have hosted this important event."

Other UNC student competitors included Bryan Dotzler, Voran Heiny, Amanda Hoff, Kent Hull and Brandon Marble. Those who assisted in judging included: UNC alumni Hayley Hull, Tom Jackson, Oliver Uhlig and Robert Stise, graduate student Audrey Tocco, UNC Assistant Professor of Economics Rhonda Corman and UNC Professor and Chair of Monfort College of Business, Keiko Krahnke. The judges' comments were very positive for both UNC teams that competed.

Other UNC campus members who took part in the event included Assistant Professor of Philosophy Jeff Brown, Administrative Assistant Renee Dent and Student Assistant Ava Jensen.


Share UNC News