Jump to main content

COVID-19: News and Campus Updates

Faculty and Staff

The faculty in the Department each have the terminal degree in their field of study. We pride ourselves on how we work with students at both the undergraduate and graduate levels in the classroom, the laboratory, and outside of the academic setting.  Click on our names to learn more about what we do.

Faculty in the Department

Michael D. Mosher, Interim-Chair and Professor, Ph.D., Texas Tech University, Organic Chemistry. Synthetic organic chemistry, heterocyclic chemistry of 2-isozazolines, acridine-based anti-cancer drug design, and organic reactions during the brewing process.
Email: Michael.Mosher@unco.edu

Aaron Apawu, Assistant Professor, Ph.D., Wayne State University, Analytical Chemistry. Interactions of external environmental contaminants on brain chemistry.
Email: Aaron.Apawu@unco.edu

Corina Brown, Assistant Professor, Ph.D., University of Northern Colorado, Chemical Education. Biochemical education, assessment tools to measure student success in an academic setting, virtual reality labs, equity in chemistry , drug analyses.
Email: Corina.Brown@unco.edu

Aichun Dong, Professor, Ph.D., Colorado State University, Biochemistry; Editor-in-Chief, International Journal of Biological Macromolecules. Protein structure; structure function relationship; protein folding/unfolding; protein denaturation, stabilization, and formulation; protein infrared database.
E-mail: Aichun.Dong@unco.edu

Bob Houser, Professor, Ph.D., University of Minnesota, Inorganic Chemistry. Synthetic inorganic chemistry, bioinorganic chemistry, coordination chemistry, coordination polymers.
E-mail: robert.houser@unco.edu

Murielle Watzky, Associate Professor, Ph.D., Wayne State University, Inorganic and Physical Chemistry. Use of the optical and electrochemical properties of silver nanoparticles to understand the mechanisms involved in their antimicrobial action.
E-mail: Murielle.Watzky@unco.edu

Melissa Weinrich, Associate Professor, Ph.D., University of Arizona, Chemistry Education. Eye-movement modeling examples, eye-tracking, student conceptions in organic chemistry, organic assessment practices.
E-mail: Melissa.Weinrich@unco.edu

 

Adjunct Faculty

Stefanie Barnett, Adjunct Lecturer.  Stefanie teaches courses in the general chemistry, science education, and organic chemistry curriculum.
Email: stefanie.barnett@unco.edu

Alyssa Johnson, Adjunct Lecturer. Alyssa teaches courses in the general chemistry, science education, and organic chemistry curriculum.
Email: alyssa.johnson@unco.edu

Staff in the Department

Sean Johnson, Assistant Brewer. Sean assists in the teaching, recruiting, and curriculum development for the brewing laboratory science program and in the maintenance and operation of the brewery on campus.
Email: sean.johnson@unco.edu