Jump to main content

COVID-19: News and Campus Updates | University Resources | COVID-19 County Status | Fall 2021 Plans

Distinguished Scholars Ceremony

Sponsored by the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs

and University Authors and Artists Recognition

Sponsored by the University Libraries 

View Faculty Publications & Performances

Distinguished Scholars

2021 College Scholars

Heng-Yu Ku, Ph.D

Professor of Teacher Education
College of Education and Behavioral Sciences

Ather Zia, Ph.D. 

Associate Professor of Anthropology
College of Humanities and Social Sciences

Anne Toewe, Ph.D. 

Professor of Costume Design and Head of Theatre Design & Technology
College of Performing and Visual Arts

Hua Zhao, Ph.D. 

Professor and Chair of Chemistry and Biochemistry
College of Natural and Health Sciences

Yazan Alnsour, Ph.D. 

Assistant Professor of Computer Information Systems
Monfort College of Business                                 

Jennifer Mayer, MLIS 

Associate Professor and Head of Library Research Services
University Libraries

Sponsored Programs Awards and Recognition

Outstanding Achievement
Hua Zhao, Ph.D.
Chemistry and Biochemistry

New Faculty Recognition
Chelsie Romulo, Ph.D.
Geography, GIS, & Sustainabili

Appreciation of Service
Jennifer Leffler, MLIS, 2019-2020 Chair
Kyle Ward, Ph.D., 2020-2021 Chair
Faculty Research and Publications Board

Mark Montemayor
Member 2007-2019, Chair 2019-2020, Institutional Review Board

2021 A.M. and Jo Winchester Distinguished Scholar

Karen Barton, Ph. D.

  • Professor, Geography & GIS
  • College of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Ph.D. Geography, University of Arizona (Minor: Anthropology)
  • M.A. Geography, University of Arizona
  • B.A. Social Ecology, University of California, Irvine, (Emphasis: Criminology)

The A.M. and Jo Winchester Distinguished Scholar Award is given annually to a scholar at the rank of associate professor or higher who has demonstrated continued excellence in scholarly activity for at least five years. The award comes with the designation, for the rest of the honoree’s time at UNC, of A.M. and Jo Winchester Distinguished Professor.  The recipient is selected by the Faculty Research and Publications Board.

Office of Undergraduate Research Awards

Summer 2019

  • Jacob Aychman
  • James Butts
  • Grace Davis
  • Brittney Geurink
  • Hannah Gustafson
  • Timothy Hernandez
  • Branden Lawson
  • Morgan Marzulla
  • Kaitlyn Raub
  • Yessica Rodriguez
  • Jorge Rubio
  • Jatinder Shokar
  • Ryan Thomas

Fall 2019

  • Chavilah Anderson-Clare
  • Amaya Arevalo
  • Jacob Aychman
  • James Butts
  • Michela Byrne
  • Brandon Clark
  • Ryder Cuppett
  • Jordan Davenport
  • Grace Davis
  • James Dowdell
  • Annika Holm
  • Chloe Love
  • Claire Metusalem
  • Nathan Olin
  • Alexa Pellegrino
  • Hallie Schield
  • Brandon Selz
  • Madelyn Singleton
  • Sophia Taylor

Spring 2020

  • Isabella Aspromonte
  • Jacob Aychman
  • Dennis Baciuc
  • Rachel Candelaria      
  • Samantha Costigan
  • Kaitlin Erpenbeck
  • Gavonne Goodwin     
  • Vivian Hoang  
  • Ava Jensen
  • Samuel Judson           
  • Casey Lloyd    
  • Jarek Makarchuk  
  • Erin Munder   
  • Lisa O'Connor 
  • Alyson Rotman
  • Claire Rozada 
  • Jorge Rubio Garcia     
  • Samuel Sherman        
  • Katrina Stelk

Summer 2020

  • Donovan Barratt
  • Brenner Dugan          
  • Tara Hobbs
  • Danielle Magasano

Fall 2020 & Spring 2021

  • Ayman Alhazmi
  • Nicola Anglo-Raymundo
  • Shelby Brown
  • Alexandria Colpitts
  • Isabella Cordon
  • Jakob Coykendall
  • Natalie Sue Crouch
  • Tim Crowther
  • Fahad Dahish
  • Samantha Ewing
  • Angel Garcia
  • Rose Glaser
  • Zachary Gonzales
  • Claire Hamilton
  • Natalie Horn
  • Kenneth Trey Kochevar
  • Gisselle Lopez Hernandez
  • Ricel Lopez
  • Ashley Lovely
  • Camille Lucas
  • Hailie Macy
  • Dani Magasano
  • Isabel Martinez-Venegas
  • Sydney McCormick
  • Douglas Anthony Mellon
  • Lisa O'Connor
  • Chloe Parsons
  • Jasmine Poblano
  • Bianca Ramos
  • Olivia Sponsler-Sanchez
  • Adeleine Santos
  • Rowan Smart
  • Katrina Stelk
  • Aaron Updike
  • Eroline Daniela
  • Mburunyeme Yakorde

Faculty Research and Publications Board

  • Kyle Ward, Chair, Criminology and Criminal Justice
  • Oluwagbenga “David” Agboola, Graduate Student Association
  • Stacy Bailey, Humanities and Social Sciences, At-large
  • Richard Bownas, Humanities and Social Sciences, At-large
  • Darren Ilett, University Libraries
  • Kristine Melloy, Education and Behavioral Sciences, At-large
  • Mehrgan Mostowfi, Monfort College of Business
  • Todd Sundeen, Education and Behavioral Sciences
  • Anna Ursyn, Performing and Visual Arts
  • Murielle Watzky, Natural and Health Sciences
  • Robert Weis, Vice Chair, Humanities and Social Sciences, At-large

Fund for Faculty Publications Review Committee

  • Wendy Highby, Chair, University Libraries
  • Lauryn Benedict, Natural and Health Sciences
  • Lu Tian, Education and Behavioral Sciences
  • Steven Seegel, Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Nicole Webber, University Libraries