Jump to main content

Veronica Scherbak, M.S.

Doctoral Intern



I received my Bachelor of Arts in Psychology from the University of Colorado Denver. I completed my non-terminal master’s degree in Counseling Psychology at Colorado State University and am currently working on earning my doctorate there as well. I have experience working with a wide range of clients in a university counseling center, community mental health, and private practice setting. I have experience with individual, couples and group therapy, as well as psychological assessment.

Current Roles

As a doctoral intern at the counseling center, I offer individual, couples and group psychotherapy, outreach, supervision to practicum students and consultation services.

Therapeutic Approaches

I approach therapy from primarily an Acceptance and Commitment Therapy (ACT) framework, but I also integrate aspects of Cognitive Behavioral therapy (CBT), Dialectical Behavior Therapy (DBT) and Interpersonal Process Therapy (IPT) into my work, depending on my client’s needs. For couples therapy I use a mix of Emotion Focused Couples Therapy (EFCT) and Gottman. In therapy I help my clients explore their past and present experiences, as well as their cognitive processes and values. I encourage my clients to reconnect with their authentic emotional experiences and to engage in behaviors that are based on their personal goals and needs. I believe that living a value-driven life can lead to lasting change, growth and fulfillment. Additionally, I approach therapy from a feminist and multicultural perspective, and I believe that each client is a unique individual with their own story to tell. I approach supervision from a developmental, strength-based approach that is multiculturally sensitive.

Clinical Interests

About Me

I was born in California to immigrant parents from Ukraine and grew up in Colorado. Other than therapy I am passionate about dance, and take and teach lyrical, jazz and contemporary dance classes. I also enjoy reading, cooking, playing video games, spending time with my family and friends and taking care of my dog and my hedgehog.