As a partner institution in the fully accredited Colorado School of Public Health, the University of Northern Colorado offers an MPH in Community Health Education and a Certificate in Public Health Sciences. This program prepares students to work effectively with diverse communities to identify needs and strengths, as well as develop healthy individuals and communities. The Colorado School of Public Health, collaboratively formed by the University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus, Colorado State University and the University of Northern Colorado, is the first and only school of public health in the Rocky Mountain Region. Combining transferable courses, faculty and resources, the collaborative school allows students to access specializations, research and service centers located at the three universities.

ColoradoSPH Mission

The mission of the Colorado School of Public Health is to promote the physical, mental, social and environmental health of people and communities in the Rocky Mountain Region and globally. The mission will be accomplished through collaborations in education, population-based research, and community service that bring together institutions, agencies and diverse populations.


  • Meagan Cain, MPH candidate, headed to epicenter of Nepal earthquake for disaster relief. Read full article here.
  • Recent MPH graduate, Audrey Baird and alumni Julie Hines, Danya Carroll, and Andrew Glendenning were inducted into the ColoradoSPH Alpha Upsilon Chapter of the Delta Omega National Honorary Society in Public Health on May 21st for their outstanding contributions to the school and as dedicated public health professionals in their respective communities.
  • Two members of UNC received the following 2015 ColoradoSPH awards: Danielle Brittain, Associate Professor, was awarded the Faculty Excellence in Research Award for her outstanding commitment to student learning by engaging students in the procurement of external funding and/or dissemination of research findings. Natalie Thomas was awarded the Outstanding Contribution by a Student at UNC for her excellent leadership as Student Council President (2014-15) and dedication to the program.
  • Molly Hadley and Meagan Cain, current students, presented at the Women’s Wellness Conference at the University of Wisconsin – Platteville on “From Vaginas to Putis: Barriers and Assets to Empowerment among Commercial Sex Workers in Kathmandu, Nepal,” which addressed their experiences, observations, and personal stories from the women working in prostitution who attended their volunteer-led health workshops in Summer 2014.
  • An article by Nora (Testerman) May, Community Health Lecturer, and colleagues, "Individuals With Severe Mental Illnesses Have Improved Eating Behaviors and Cooking Skills After Attending a 6-Week Nutrition Cooking Class", was published in the Psychiatric Rehabilitation Journal in January and was featured on APA Journals' social media channels.