UNC Audiologist Oversees Classroom Outreach Program

Thirty audiologists will visit K-12 classrooms throughout the state this month to teach an estimated 1,200 students about hearing loss prevention through interactive presentations.

The intervention program, “Dangerous Decibels,” kicks off activities in April devoted to hearing loss prevention for school-age children. It coincides with the American Academy of Audiology national conference April 19-21 at the Denver Convention Center.

The classroom presentations use tuning forks, Ping-Pong balls, sound-level meters and blenders to teach lessons about sound, hearing and protecting the ears against hazardous sound levels.

The locations, dates and contact information for the audiologists presenting:

Aurora
April 16: Cherry Creek School District. Contact: Barbara Lambright, 720-554-4070, blambright@cherrycreekschools.org; Lauren Schiel, 720-554-4024, lschiel@cherrycreekschools.org
April 19: Metro Denver Home-Schooled Students. Contact: Shelly Miller, 720-554-4044, mikeandshelly2000@yahoo.com

Castle Rock
April 14: Chaparral High, Douglas County School District. Contact: Jodi Heimer, 303-387-0451, jodi.heimer@dcsdk12.org; Lois Look, 303-387-0451, lois.look@dcsdk12.org
April 26: Flagstone Elementary, Douglas County School District. Contact: Donna Massine, 303-387-0530, donna.massine@dcsdk12.org

Colorado Springs
April 17: Stetson Elementary, Falcon School District. Contact: Carly Winter, 719-439-2977, cwinter@ppboces.org

Denver
April 17: Carson Elementary School, Denver Public Schools. Contact: Lisa Cannon, 720-424-9154, lisa_cannon@dpsk12.org
TBD: Adams County School District 14. Contact: Shana Martinez, 303-853-1110, semartin@acsd14.k12.co.us

Golden
TBD: Clear Creek Schools. Contact: Ferrell Evans, 303-642-1314, thirdandlong@juno.com

Greeley
April 17
- Cameron Elementary School. Contact: Deanna Meinke, 970-351-1600, deanna.meinke@unco.edu; Jenny Weber, jenny.weber@unco.edu
- University Schools. Contact: Jodi Little, 970-506-6902, jlittle76@comcast.net

La Salle
April 18: Mirich Elementary School. Contact Lisa Guzman, 970-352-7404, lguzman@cboces.org

Limon
TBD: Stratton Elementary School. Contact: Rachel Sanders McArthur, 719-775-2342 Ext. 131, rachelm@ecboces.org

Littleton
April 17: Runyon Elementary School. Contact: Debra Draus, 303-347-6995, ddraus@lps.k12.co.us

Longmont
April 16: Central Elementary School, St. Vrain School District. Contact: Julia Tulenko, 303-776-8674, Ext. 3, tulenko_julia@stvrain.k12.co.us
Loveland
April 17: Monroe Elementary School, Thompson R2-J, Contact: Kim Miller, 970-613-6505, millerki@thompson.k12.co.us

Northglenn
April 17: Mountain View Elementary School, Adams 12 School District. Contact: Barb Beaton, Nancy Cyphers and Shannon Walker. Contact: Barb Beaton, 720-972-6252, barb.beaton@adams12.org; Nancy Cyphers, 720-972-6247, nancy.cyphers@adams12.org; Shannon Walker, 720-972-6239, shannon.walker@adams12.org

“Dangerous Decibels” is a public health campaign developed to reduce the incidence of noise-induced hearing loss and ringing in the ears by changing knowledge, attitudes, and behaviors of school-aged children. The program was developed in collaboration with the Oregon Hearing Research Center and the Oregon Museum of Science and Industry and is directed by Dr. William “Billy” Hal Martin of the Oregon Health and Science University. “Dangerous Decibel” Educator Kits, funded by the American Academy of Audiology, are provided to local audiologists for implementing classroom programs. The kits are produced by the National Hearing Conservation Association, the Marion Downs Hearing Center and Oregon Health & Science University.

Deanna Meinke is coordinating the statewide campaign. She is assistant professor of Audiology and Speech-Language Sciences at the University of Northern Colorado and president-elect of the National Hearing Conservation Association.

Other event highlights as part of the American Academy of Audiology national conference:

- K-12 Teacher Workshop: Sound, Hearing and Dangerous Decibels
Kathryn Arehart of the University of Colorado, Martin and Meinke will lead the training course for teachers, 9 a.m.-3 p.m. Wednesday, April 18, at CU-Boulder. The workshop is designed to equip K-12 teachers with the knowledge and resources to integrate prevention of noise-reduced hearing loss into classroom curricula. Contact Arehart at (303) 492-3036 or kathryn.arehart@colorado.edu for registration information.

- American Academy of Audiology Dangerous Decibels Symposia
A professional development workshop for audiologists 8-11:30 a.m. Friday, April 20, at the Denver Convention Center. Presentation is led by Martin, Meinke and Ted Madison.

- American Academy of Audiology DiscovEARy Zone
A free educational exhibit for the public and school-age children during the national conference. Interactive kiosks and displays will provide hearing loss prevention information. Special efforts are being made to invite home-schooled students to the event. Contact Cheryl Johnson at 970-590-5500 or cdj51@comcast.net for additional information.

-30-

970-351-1600

Keywords:

    Bookmark and Share