UNC Residence Hall Association Earns Two National Awards

The University of Northern Colorado's Residence Hall Association received the National Association of College and University Residence Halls' School of the Year and Commitment to Diversity awards at the association's annual conference, held June 21-24 in San Diego.

In choosing the recipient of the School of the Year Award, a selection committee evaluated educational institutions' residence hall associations in a number of areas that included organizational structure and growth, progress toward stated goals, community service activities and perceived student benefits from residence hall governance.

Schools from the NACURH's eight affiliate regions were eligible for consideration after previously earning nominations during a regional selection process. They included the University of Arizona, the University of Georgia, Syracuse University and San Jose State University.

UNC's residence hall association also earned the national school of the year award in 1987 and has been named regional school of the year seven times.

The Commitment to Diversity Award, which UNC also won in 2008, is given to a school that involves a student-directed, year-long, campus-wide commitment to awareness and education of residential students concerning diversity issues.

During the presentation of the award, UNC was referred to as "a national model for diversity," according to Chris Mullen, who serves as UNC Resident Hall Association advisor.

"These awards are highly coveted by institutions across the nation," Mullen said. "While RHA submitted the bid for these awards, they're based on our institution as a whole."

The National Association of College and University Residence Halls is a collection of more than 400 member schools in the United States, Canada, Mexico, Australia and Qatar. UNC is a member of the Intermountain Affiliate of College and University Residence Halls, made up of student-run residence hall associations at colleges and universities in Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, New Mexico, Utah, Wyoming, and the Canadian provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan.