Jump to main content

Previous Conferences

2017: Fresh Voices Along the Front Range

Fiction: Brad Watson

Brad Watson was born in Mississippi, and educated there and in Alabama, where he was a newspaper reporter on the Gulf Coast. Since then he’s taught at several universities and has been at the University of Wyoming since 2005. His books are Last Days of the Dog-Men, The Heaven of Mercury (shortlisted for the 2002 National Book Award in fi ction), Aliens in the Prime of Their Lives, and most recently Miss Jane: A Novel which is included in the 2016 National Book Award longlist for fiction.

Creative Nonfiction: Felicia Rose Chavez

Felicia Rose Chavez is a writer and multimedia artist. She holds an MFA in Creative Nonfiction Writing and her audio essays and documentaries feature regularly on National Public Radio. She served as Program Director to Young Chicago Authors and founded GirlSpeak, a literary webzine for young women. She taught writing at the University of New Mexico and the University of Iowa before coming to Colorado College where she’s been awarded a Riley Scholar Fellowship in English and Film and Media Studies.

Poetry: Juan Morales

Juan Morales is the author of the poetry collections The Siren World, Friday and the Year That Followed, and the forthcoming collection, The Handyman’s Guide to End Times. His poems have recently appeared or are forthcoming in Hayden’s Ferry Review, Poet Lore, Green Mountains Review, and other journals. He is a CantoMundo Fellow, the Editor of Pilgrimage Magazine, and an Associate Professor of English at Colorado State University-Pueblo, where he directs the Creative Writing Program and curates the SoCo Reading Series.


Fiction writer Jon Clinch, author of Finn, winner of American Library Association Notable Book, and other novels

Poet Beth Bachmann, whose first book, Temper, won the AWP Donald Hall Poetry prize and the Kate Tufts Discovery Award

Creative Nonfiction writer Steven Church, author of The Guinness Book of Me: A Memoir of Record (winner of the 2006 Colorado Book Award in Creative Nonfiction)


Creative Nonfiction writer Ava Chin, author of Eating Wildly: Foraging for Life, Love and the Perfect Meal

Poet Ilyse Kusnetz, winner of the 2014 T.S. Eliot Prize for Poetry with Small Hours

Fiction writer Steven Schwartz, author of Little Raw Souls and other books of fiction