Jump to main content

Spring 2019 Elections

*Due to the number of grievances filed during the 2019 Spring Senate Election, preliminary results will be temporarily delayed. According to the UNC Elections Rules and Regulations, results are announced and certified only if no valid grievance has been filed. We apologize for this inconvenience and are currently waiting for decisions from UNC’s Student Judiciary. We will notify the UNC community of these results as soon as they become available to us. Thank you for your patience and involvement in our UNC Student Senate Election.

2019 Elections Timeline Document

Elections Timeline

Friday, February 1

Election Packets Available

12:00 p.m.
Student Senate Bulletin Board, UC, Office of Student Life

Wednesday, February 6

Candidate Information Meeting

Marketing Meeting #1
2:00-2:30 p.m.
UC, Office of Student Life Lounge

Friday, February 8

Candidate Information Meeting

Marketing Meeting #2
1:00-1:30 p.m.
UC, Office of Student Life Lounge

Wednesday, February 13

Candidate Information Meeting

Marketing Meeting #3
4:00-4:30 p.m.
UC, Office of Student Life Lounge

Thrsday, February 21

Candidate Information Meeting

Marketing Meeting #4
1:00-1:30 p.m.
UC, Office of Student Life Lounge

Monday, February 25

Candidate Information Meeting

Marketing Meeting #5
11:00-11:30 a.m.
UC, Office of Student Life Lounge

Friday, March 1

Election Packets & Signatures Due

By 5:00 p.m.
UC, Office of Student Life Lounge

Proposals for Referenda/Opinions Polls Due for Review

By 5:00 p.m.
UC, Office of Student Life Main Office or  UC #2025, Student Senate Office

Tuesday, March 5

Verification of all Petitions

5:00 p.m.

Candidate Announcements

5:00 p.m.
UC, Office of Student Life Lounge

Friday, March 22

Referenda Proposals/Opinion Polls Results

4:00 p.m.
UC #2025, Student Senate Office

Printed Ballot Available for Inspection

5:00 p.m.
UC #2025, Student Senate Office

Extended Deadline for MCB and PVA

5:00 p.m.
UC #2025, Student Senate Office

Monday, March 25

Ballot Corrections Proposals Due

By 4:00 p.m.
UC #2025, Student Senate Office

Thursday, March 28

Candidate Open Forum

Various candidates participating
7:00-8:00 p.m.
UC, Office of Student Life Lounge

Friday, March 29

Final Ballot Approved

4:00 p.m.

Monday, April 1

Candidate Open Forum

Various candidates participating
6:00-7:30 p.m.
UC, Office of Student Life Lounge

Candidate Meet & Greet

7:30-9:00 p.m.
UC, Office of Student Life Lounge

Tuesday, April 2

2019-2020 Student Senate Elections Begins

Online
8:00 a.m.

Election Day 1

Polls Open from 8:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m.
UC

Wednesday, April 3

Election Day 2

Polls Open from 8:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m.
UC

Thursday, April 4

Election Day 3

Polls Open from 8:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m.
UC

2019-2020 Student Senate Elections Ends

Online
5:00 p.m.

Friday, April 5

*Preliminary Results Delayed

Monday, April 8

Grievance/Recount Requests Deadline

By 5:00 p.m.
UC, Office of Student Life Main Office or UC #2025, Student Senate Office

Friday, April 12

Official Results Announced

By 5:00 p.m., if no grievances are filed
UC, Office of Student Life Lounge