Jump to main content

 Please complete this 60-second survey after viewing

Project CLIMB’s resources found here:

 To access the survey please click on this link.

 Professional Development

Directory of  Master Legal Trainers

Preparing Deaf and hearing interpreters to interpret in court and legal settings was a concentrated focus for the NCIEC that led to the development of two sets of curriculum and the hosting of two train the trainer events led by Anna Witter-Merithew, M.Ed., Director of the MARIE Center. With support from the NCIEC regional centers and the University of Northern Colorado’s DO IT Center staff, Carla Mathers, Anna Witter-Merithew, along with teaching consultants, Eileen Forestal, Pasch McCombs, and Lynne Wiesman, implemented the train-the-trainer seminars.

All of the trainings can be adapted for seminars and course work, study groups, mentoring sessions and other types of learning activities.

These master trainers have received concentrated training on five thematically-based modules focusing on areas in legal and primarily court interpreting for which deaf interpreters have often been retained. The thematically-based Deaf Interpreter modules are:

Master Trainers for the Deaf Interpreters in Legal Settings

Christopher Tester tester.christopher@gmail.com
Lisa Perry Burckhardt lperryburckhardt@gmail.com
Ryan Shephard ryan.a.shephard@gmail.com
Robin Shannon robin.stafford.shannon@gmail.com
Rayni Plaster rayni.plaster@gallaudet.edu
Jimmy Beldon jimmy@kisasl.com
June Prusak cdijune@yahoo.com
Eileen Forestal eileenog@gmail.com

These master trainers have received training on how to implement training packages focused on an aspect of legal or court interpreting central to the work of interpreters in this setting. These training packages included these topics:

  • Interpreting Lines of Questioning: Designed to increase the ability of participants to interpret structured lines of questioning as they are used in legal contexts
  • Increasing your Scope of Influence as a Legal Interpreter: This package assists participants with understanding of their own styles of communication and identifying the characteristics of the communication styles of others towards the goal of effective collaboration.
  • Proceedings Interpreter(s): Prepares participants to function as proceedings interpreters by examining role and responsibility and application of best practices.
  • Preparation Strategies for Deaf-Hearing Interpreting Teams: Assists participants in gaining an appreciation of the various elements associated with team preparation and the agreements needed to guide effective collaboration between team members.

The Master Trainers for the General Legal Settings

Christopher Tester tester.christopher@gmail.com
Lisa Perry Burckhardt lperryburckhardt@gmail.com
Ryan Shephard ryan.a.shephard@gmail.com
Robin Shannon robin.stafford.shannon@gmail.com
Rayni Plaster rayni.plaster@gallaudet.edu
Jimmy Beldon jimmy@kisasl.com
Jana Owen jana@janaowen.us
Tracy Clark tracy.clark.3@gmail.com
Liz Mendoza mendozaliz@cox.net
Linda Ross lross@hallenross.com
Ben Hall admin@hallenross.com
Eileen Forestal eileenog@gmail.com
Pasch McCombs Paschmcc@aol.com
Carla Mathers carla.mathers@gmail.com
Lynne Wiesman lynne@signs-of-development.org
Anna Witter-Merithew awittermerithew@carolina.rr.com

The individuals listed in this Directory are available to provide trainings and workshops. For questions about trainers’ availability and fees, please click their email addresses to contact them directly.