Office of Research Honors Faculty Scholars at Annual Luncheon

2017 A.M. and Jo Winchester Distinguished Scholar Florence Guido speaks during a luncheon honoring her and college scholars. Related: Slide show at end of story.

As part of Academic Excellence Week, the University of Northern Colorado's Office of Research recognized faculty achievement in research and other academic pursuits at the annual Distinguished Scholar Luncheon on April 5.

Florence M. Guido, Ph.D., professor of Higher Education and Student Affairs Leadership in the College of Education and Behavioral Sciences, was honored as the 2017 Winchester Distinguished Scholar.

The award, which recognizes demonstrated continued excellence in scholarly activity at UNC for at least five years, comes with a $2,000 monetary award and the permanent designation of A.M. and Jo Winchester Distinguished Professor.

Guido, who joined the HESAL faculty in 1997, also served as the program's coordinator from 2000-01 and 2009-11.

Others honored during the luncheon were:

College Scholars

  • Education and Behavioral Sciences: Elysia Clemens, Associate Professor, Applied Psychology and Counselor Education
  • Humanities and Social Sciences: Mark Eiswerth, Professor of Economics; Josh Packard, Associate Professor of Sociology
  • Monfort College of Business: Janice Payan, Professor of Marketing
  • Natural and Health Sciences: Jodie Novak, Professor of Mathematical Sciences
  • Performing and Visual Arts: Brian Luedloff, Professor of Music/Director of Opera Theatre
  • University Libraries: Jay Trask, Associate Professor/Head of Archival Services

Sponsored Programs Achievement Awardees

  • Outstanding Achievement: Kay Ferrell, Professor Emerita of Special Education
  • New Faculty Recognition: Audrey Snyder, Associate Professor of Nursing

Research poster sessions before and after the luncheon gave awardees and other faculty the opportunity to share information about their current research projects.

The Distinguished Scholar Awards are sponsored by the Office of Research, the Office of Sponsored Programs and the Faculty Research and Publications Board.