Jump to main content

Student Advising

Undergraduate Student Advising

Incoming freshmen will register for their first semester of classes at New Student Orientation. After that, each semester students will be expected to meet with their advisor prior to registration. For more information, contact the department or program.

Advising for Transfer & Nontraditional Students

Online orientation supports the transfer and nontraditional student acclimation to UNC. Completing the program will give students some practical resources to get started and will help set up a successful transition to campus. Students will receive an email in their BearMail account from orientation@unco.edu with a link to access the online orientation within a week of being admitted to UNC. All incoming transfer students are required to complete online orientation.

After online orientation is completed, the next step is academic advising. This page will help you navigate who to contact for advising based on major.

All students may attend an in-person Transfer and Nontraditional Welcome for advising and registration. To coordinate individual advising if you cannot attend a Welcome event, students should contact their advisor (listed below by major) to set up an in-person or remote appointment. Students who cannot attend an in-person appointment may contact the Dean's Office.

For more information, or if you have reached out to an advisor and have not heard a response within a week, please contact:

Deborah Lewis
Senior Administrative Specialist
College of Humanities and Social Sciences Dean's Office
Email: Deborah.Lewis@unco.edu  
Phone: (970) 351-2706

Advising Contacts by Major

Major

On-Campus
Advising Required

Contact Information

Africana Studies

No

Travis Boyce
(970) 351-2392
Travis.Boyce@unco.edu or Africana.Studies@unco.edu 

Anthropology

No

Britney Kyle
(970) 351-2761
Britney.Kyle@unco.edu or Anthropology@unco.edu 

Asian Studies

Yes

Michelle Low
(970) 351-1366 
Michelle.Low@unco.edu or World.Languages@unco.edu

Communication Studies

Yes

Thomas Endres
(970) 351-1507 
Thomas.Endres@unco.edu or Comm.Studies@unco.edu 

Criminology & Criminal Justice

Yes

Meagan Miller
(970) 351-4687 
Meagan.Miller@unco.edu or Criminal.Justice@unco.edu 

Economics

No

Dawit Senbet
(970) 351-3163
Dawit.Senbet@unco.edu or Economics@unco.edu 

English

Yes

Andreas Mueller
(970) 351-1577
Andreas.Mueller@unco.edu or English@unco.edu 

Environmental & Sustainability Studies

 Yes

James Doerner
(970) 351-2733
James.Doerner@unco.edu or ENST@unco.edu 

European Languages & Cultures

 Yes

Donald Holman
(970) 351-3698
Donald.Holman@unco.edu or World.Languages@unco.edu 

Foreign Languages (French)

 Yes

Donald Holman
(970) 351-3698
Donald.Holman@unco.edu or World.Languages@unco.edu

Foreign Languages (German)

 Yes

Donald Holman
(970) 351-3698
Donald.Holman@unco.edu or World.Languages@unco.edu 

Geography & GIS

Yes

James Doerner
(970) 351-2733
James.Doerner@unco.edu or Geography.GIS@unco.edu 

History

No

Fritz Fischer
(970) 351-2263
Fritz.Fischer@unco.edu or History@unco.edu 

International Affairs

Yes

Stan Luger 
(970) 351-1584 
Stan.Luger@unco.edu or PoliticalScience.InternationalAffairs@unco.edu 

Journalism & Media Studies

Yes

Thomas Endres 
(970) 351-1507 
Thomas.Endres@unco.edu or Journalism@unco.edu 

Mexican American Studies

Yes

George Thomas
(970) 351-2162
George.Thomas@unco.edu or Hispanic.Studies@unco.edu

Philosophy

No

Nancy Matchett
(970) 351-1567 
Nancy.Matchett@unco.edu or Philosophy@unco.edu 

Political Science

Yes

Stan Luger 
(970) 351-1584
Stan.Luger@unco.edu or PoliticalScience.InternationalAffairs@unco.edu 

Sociology

No

Greeley Campus — Kyle Anne Nelson
(970) 351-2592 
Kyle.Nelson@unco.edu or Sociology@unco.edu 

Online — Sandra Harmon
(970) 351-2307
Sandra.Harmon@unco.edu or Sociology@unco.edu 

Spanish

Yes

George Thomas
(970) 351-2162
George.Thomas@unco.edu or Hispanic.Studies@unco.edu