Jump to main content

COVID-19: News and campus updates | University policies and resources

Kacie Yost, M.A.

Doctoral Intern

she/her/hers

Education & Training

I am currently in the process of completing my Psy.D. in Counseling Psychology at Chatham University located in Pittsburgh, PA. In my time as a trainee, I have worked in adult partial hospitalization, career development, college counseling, and inpatient cancer treatment. I also have experience in individual therapeutic treatment and in leading and co-leading both process and skills groups in a college setting. I have worked with predominantly the young adult and adult populations and am looking forward to continued work with a diverse group of individuals here at UNC.

Current Roles

I provide individual therapy, co-facilitate group therapy sessions, and supervise Master’s level clinicians.

Therapeutic & Supervision Approaches

I believe that individuals are the experts on their own lives and are their own agents of change and therefore work from a Constructivist perspective that utilizes techniques that best fit clients needs. Every client’s story coming in to therapy is an important one, and I thus often incorporate narrative and solution-focused based techniques and a CBT framework aimed at forming connections between thoughts, feelings, and behaviors in everyday life. Additionally, I strongly believe in the power of the therapeutic relationship and thus focus on maintaining a relationship that allows clients to explore and process their thoughts, feelings, and behaviors in a safe space. I further utilize feminist and multicultural perspectives of therapy and explore the various ways that clients’ identities impact therapy as well as their current life challenges. I aim to act as a guide and support for my clients and empower them to reach their goals as they progress through therapy.

Clinical Interests

About Me

Hi, I’m Kacie! I recently moved to Colorado from Pittsburgh, PA and love Pittsburgh sports, especially the Pittsburgh Penguins and Pirates. In my spare time, I like to watch games, hike, read, and re-purpose old furniture. I also love my dogs, Missy (cockapoo) and Pippa (pug and whippet mix).