Award Nominations

Award for Excellence in Social Science Engaged Research

The Acting Assistant Vice President for Research administers the Award for Excellence in Social Science Engaged Research. This award is given annually to a faculty member in a selected academic field who has demonstrated excellence in research and scholarly activity related to civic engagement projects and programs. This award is the result of a generous endowment from Robert Brunswig, Rebecca Brunswig, and Ken Coleman. A new award of $1000 is offered each year to a faculty member who has demonstrated exemplary scholarship in engaged research and civic engagement. Nominations are welcome for faculty members from one of the following UNC departments and academic programs: Anthropology, Africana Studies, Economics, Environmental Studies, Geography, Gerontology, Political Science, Recreation, Tourism and Hospitality, Social Science, Sociology, and Women’s Studies. Eligible individuals must also be term or tenure track lecturers or assistant professors with M.A. or Ph.D. degrees (or both). The nominator must be a faculty member from one of the listed departments or programs. Self-nominations are welcome. The award recipient is selected by a committee of social science faculty members.

  • 2012 Award: Dr. Karen Barton
  • 2013 Award: Dr. Kyle Anne Nelson
  • 2015 Award: Dr. Josh Packard
  • 2016 Award: Dr. Britney Kyle
  • Contact Robert Houser at or 351-4390 with any questions.