Residency Deadlines, Processes and Forms

Deadline Information
The submission period and deadline dates to submit a Petition for In-State Tuition Classification are published several years in advance. These are very strict deadlines for submission. Only under exceptional circumstances may petitions be accepted up to the first day of the semester.

Completed petitions and required documentation may be submitted to the Office of the Registrar as early as 90 days prior to the term for which the individual desires a change in classification, but no later than the published deadline for that term ( 2 weeks prior to the first day of classes).

Specific deadlines for the upcoming terms are listed below:

 Term Submission Period Begins Priority Due Date Petition Deadline Domicile Year
Spring 2017 10/10/2016 11/10/2016 12/26/2016 Jan 09, 2016 - Jan 09, 2017
Summer 2017 2/13/2017 3/13/2017

5/1/2017

May 15, 2016 - May 15, 2017
Fall 2017 5/22/2017  6/26/2017 8/7/2017  Aug 21, 2016 - Aug 21, 2017
Interim 17-18 9/11/2017  10/09/2017

11/27/2017

Dec 11, 2016 - Dec 11, 2017
Spring 2018  10/09/2017 11/06/2017 12/22/2017  Jan 08, 2017 - Jan 08, 2018
Summer 2018 2/12/2018  3/12/2018  4/30/2018 May 14, 2017 - May 14, 2018
Fall 2018 5/21/2018  6/22/2018 8/06/2018  Aug 20, 2017 - Aug 20, 2018
Interim 18-19 9/10/2018  10/08/2018  11/26/2018 Dec 10, 2017 - Dec 10, 2018
Spring 2019  10/08/2018 11/05/2018 12/24/2018  Jan 07, 2018 - Jan 07, 2019
Summer 2109 2/11/2019  3/11/2019 4/29/2019  May 13, 2018 - May 13, 2019

 *If you anticipate receiving financial aid for the semester you are petitioning for resident tuition, it is recommended that you submit your petition no later than 60 days before the term. This will enable your financial aid to be processed and credited to your account by the time the term begins.

Completed forms along with all supporting documentation can be submitted at the Registrar’s Office in Carter Hall 3002, or mailed to:

Office of the Registrar
Attn: Tuition Classification Officer 
University of Northern Colorado
Campus Box 50
Greeley, CO 80639

Make sure your signature is notarized. There are Notary Publics available in the Registrar's Office.

Petitions are generally reviewed within 2-3 weeks and petitioners are notified of the decision by mail. If additional information is required, the petitioner will be emailed at his or her BearMail address.

Decisions made by the Tuition Classification Officer may be appealed to the Tuition Classification Appeal Panel. Appeals must be made in writing within ten business days after the date the denial letter was mailed to the petitioner.

The decision made by the Tuition Classification Appeal Panel is final.

The tuition classification statute places the burden of proof upon the petitioner to provide clear and convincing evidence of eligibility and to meet the required deadlines. Tuition classification decisions are not transferable from one institution to another.

Self-Tests

Residency Self-Test

Emancipation Self-Test

Petition Forms/Information

UNC Tuition Classification General Information

UNC Petition for In-State Tuition Classification Form

UNC Minor Emancipation Claim Form

 

  • In-State Status

    In-state tuition classification status requires domicile (legal, primary residence) in Colorado for one full year immediately preceding the first day of the term. Domicile is a legal characteristic that everyone has, and you can have only one domicile at any one time.

    If your parents are not domiciled in Colorado, you must be a qualified person to begin the one-year domiciliary period. A qualified person is someone who is either:

    • at least 22 years old, or
    • married, or
    • emancipated, or
    • a graduate student.

    Persons who are not citizens of the United States should read the section regarding International/Non-US Citizens for additional information.

  • Domicile

    Domicile is defined as your true, fixed, and permanent home and place of habitation and is made up of two components:

    • Physical presence within the state, and
    • Intent to reside in Colorado permanently.

    Evidence of Colorado domicile includes actions that in your circumstances would normally be expected of, or that would be characteristic of, any permanent resident. For example, vehicle registration is relevant only if you have a motor vehicle. You are expected to take appropriate action on all factors relevant in your circumstances.

    New residents are allowed a reasonable period of time after first coming to Colorado to take appropriate actions consistent with domiciliary intent.

    The Tuition Classification Officer considers the following evidence, as specified by law, and any additional relevant information, when evaluating Petitions for Tuition Classification:

    • Colorado driver’s license. If you have a driver’s license from another state, you must apply for a Colorado driver’s license within 30 days of moving to Colorado (if you are employed) or within 120 days (if unemployed). If you do not drive, you may obtain a Colorado identification card.
    • Motor vehicle registration. If you operate a motor vehicle, you must register it in Colorado within 30 days of moving to Colorado (if employed) or within 120 days (if unemployed). This law applies to any vehicle you have, whether or not you are the registered owner.
    • Voter registration. You may register to vote with your county clerk, or when you obtain your Colorado driver’s license. Although voting is not required by law, it is nonetheless an indicator of one’s intent to create a domicile.
    • Permanent employment or acceptance of future permanent employment in Colorado.
    • Payment of Colorado state income tax (if your income is sufficient to be taxed). All taxable income accrued after you move to Colorado, regardless of source, must be reported to the Colorado Department of Revenue. You should file part-year resident returns for each state of residence for the year you move to Colorado. For subsequent years, you should file a full-year resident Colorado return.
    • Ownership of residential real property in Colorado that is your primary residence. Ownership of vacation or income property is not an indication of domicile.
    • Other factors which are specific to your situation may be considered also, and should be documented.

    Because domicile is defined as true, fixed, and permanent home, persons who are physically present in Colorado only on a temporary basis cannot establish domicile merely by taking the above actions. Establishing a new domicile requires actual residence on a permanent basis.

    The following items are evidence of maintenance of domicile outside of Colorado:

    • Failure to pay Colorado state income tax (if your income is sufficient to be taxed). Income earned in another state by a resident of Colorado is taxable in Colorado. Filing a nonresident Colorado tax return is persuasive evidence of domicile outside Colorado.
    • Failure to comply with any law imposing a mandatory duty on a permanent resident of Colorado. Examples include failure to register a motor vehicle and failure to change your driver’s license to Colorado within the statutory periods.
    • Maintenance of a home in another state.
    • Prolonged absence from Colorado. Examples include residing in another state when not enrolled as a student or between academic terms.
    • Any other factor which are specific to your situation that indicate non-Colorado domicile.

    Determination of domicile is a subjective decision requiring analysis of each petitioner’s individual evidence of domicile, not a checklist or formula to be blindly followed. A change in tuition classification will be made when the University official is convinced that domicile has occurred at least one full year prior to the start of the semester for which the applicant is petitioning.

    Because Colorado residency status is governed solely by Colorado regulations, lack of eligibility for in-state status in another state does not guarantee in-state status in Colorado. The tuition classification statutes place the burden of proof on you to provide clear and convincing evidence of eligibility.

    The state statutes do not allow the Tuition Classification Officer to be flexible with the established dates in determining whether or not a domicile has been established for residency status for any given semester. There is no provision in the state statutes for retroactive compliance.

    Information submitted to qualify for in-state classification is subject to independent verification. Individuals submitting false information or falsified supporting documents are subject to both criminal charges and University disciplinary proceedings.

    The only authorized information regarding residency for tuition purposes comes from the Tuition Classification Officer at the University, and the Officer is not bound by any misinformation given by other persons.

    Tuition classification is governed by state law (Colorado Revised Statutes §23-7-101, et. seq.) and by judicial decisions that apply to all public institutions of higher education in Colorado.

    The University of Northern Colorado does not have discretion to make exceptions to the rules as established by state law.