Academic Programs

The Department of Philosophy currently offers two majors and a minor. All of our programs are designed to give students a broad grounding in the history of Western philosophy while also enabling them to explore their more specific interests:

  • the traditional major is designed for students who want a solid foundation in the three main areas of philosophical inquiry: epistemology, metaphysics, and ethics
  • the major with an emphasis in ethics and public policy is designed for students who want more focused training in ethics and the application of philosophical methods to social and political issues
  • the minor is designed for students who prefer to select a smaller group of courses to complement another major or satisfy other academic or personal goals

Students interested in these programs are encouraged to consult with any member of the philosophy faculty or drop by our offices in McKee 318. You might also get informal advising from undergraduates hanging out in our student lounge (McKee 325).

For more information...

Contact the philosophy faculty or the department chair, Nancy Matchett