NHS College Meeting and Reception

Monday, August 16, 2010
9:00 am. – 11:30 a.m.
University Center
Pikes Peak and Mount Evans Ballrooms

Each fall, the College of Natural and Health Sciences hosts an all-college meeting and reception to introduce new faculty, review recent accomplishments in the College, and provide an overview of the year ahead. This year’s meeting was attended by roughly 115 NHS faculty, staff, and administrators, along with a number of University administrators who attended as guests. Among the highlights was the introduction of our eight new faculty members by their School Directors and Department Chair. President Norton gave a welcome address. The meeting was followed by a reception that included table discussions on research interest groups (RIGs), academic advising, development and fundraising, and general questions and answers.

Dean Battles

Dean Battles welcomes attendees to the meeting and provides college highlights.


President Norton

President Norton gives a welcome address.


Dr. Franklin

Dr. Scott Franklin introduces new faculty in the School of Biological Sciences.


Dr. Pringle

Dr. David Pringle announces changes in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry.


Dr. Galovich

Dr. Cynthia Galovich speaks about the School of Earth Sciences and Physics.


Dr. Gregg

Dr. Ellen Gregg announces new faculty members in the School of Human Sciences.


Dr. Allison

Dr. Dean Allison announces changes in the School of Mathematical Sciences.


Dr. LaSala

Dr. Kathy LaSala shares the School of Nursing's faculty and staff updates.


Dr. Stotlar

Dr. Dave Stotlar announces changes in the School of Sport and Exercise Science.


New Faculty

NHS 2010-2011 New Faculty who attended the meeting. For a full list of new faculty visit http://www.unco.edu/nhs/new_faculty/new_faculty1011.html.



NHS faculty, staff and administrators gather at the reception.


NHS Student Ambassadors

NHS Student Ambassadors enjoy getting to know each other.



Attendees enjoy the buffet.



Dr. Ann Bentz shows Susan Collins and Jennifer Hendrix how to use the new electronic undergraduate advising tool.