April 18, 2015

UNC Physics colorado space grant symposium

UNC Physics students presented their research at the Colorado Space Grant Symposium held in Boulder, CO. Clockwise from upper left: JJ Peek & Graham Stringert, Lee Ismay, Jeremiah Schwartz, Lee explaining his work.


April 12, 2015

UNC Physics academic scholar award winners

Congratulations to the 2015 Academic Scholar Award winners: Alex Lidiak, Amber Bekkali, Patrick Morales-Mendoza (L-R top), Taylor Plantt, Steven Rutherford (L-R bottom), and Anthony Saccomanno (not pictured).


April 11, 2015

supercontinuum optical vortices CUPhI 2015

UNC Physics presented their work on Supercontinuum Optical Vortices at the Colorado Ultrafast Photonics Initiative (CUPhI) workshop held in Granby, CO April 10-12.


April 11, 2015

UNC physics demosat balloon spring 2015

UNC Physics students Donovan Anderson, Amber Bekkalil, and Ryan Fabian participated in a successful DemoSat balloon launch.


April 4, 2015

UNC Physics robotics challenge 2015

UNC Physics robotics challenge 2015

UNC Physics students JJ Peek, Graham Stringert, and Anthony Saccomanno participated in the NASA Colorado Space Grant Consortium Robotics Challenge at the Great Sand Dunes National Park.


January 18, 2015



Maggie Hodge (L) and Amber Bekkali (R) attended the 2015 APS Conference for Undergraduate Women in Physics at UT-Brownsville January 16-18.

October 22, 2014

Two-Path Schlieren OSA14

UNC Physics presented their work on Color Schlieren Imaging with Monochromatic Sources at the 2014 OSA Frontiers in Optics conference in Tucson, AZ.


May 10, 2014

UNC Physics Graduation

Congratulations to the 2014 UNC Physics graduates: Ben Carlson, Steve Champion, Zach Daubert, David Garrett, Eric Gregg, Zach Hafen, Marius Herlea Jr, Sean Higgins, Tim O'Neill, Michael Schmidtbauer, Jeremiah Schwartz, Danny Thistle, and Josh Wadle.


April 7, 2014

UNC Physics was well represented at the Colorado Space Grant Consortium Robotics Challenge held April 5 at the Great Sand Dunes. Graham Stringert, David Garrett, JJ Peek and Anthony Saccomanno piloted their rover across challenging terrain.


March 30, 2014

asa physics scholars 2014

Congratulations to the 2014 Physics Academic Scholar Award winners! Danny Thistle, Zach Hafen, Lee Ismay (top, L-R), Marius Herlea Jr, Casey Rogers (bottom, L-R) were honored at an event at the UC on March 30.


March 28, 2014

two path double knife edge schlieren

UNC Physics published their work on color schlieren imaging with a two-path, double knife edge system in the journal Optics Express. The work was carried out by Dr. Chaloupka and Maurice Woods and Danny Thistle (UNC Physics undergrads) and Jacob Aas and Jessamyn Hutchins (FSI high school students).


February 12, 2014


UNC Physics major Amber Bekkali attended the American Physical Society 2014 Rocky Mountain Conference for Undergraduate Women in Physics, held January 17-19 at the University of Utah in Salt Lake City. These professional gatherings create the opportunity to experience a professional conference, share information about graduate school and professions in Physics, and provide access to other women of all ages in Physics with whom they can share experiences, advice, and ideas.


October 7, 2013

Supercontinuum Vortex Interference

The UNC Physics - San Diego State University collaboration presented their work on "Vortex Interference Effects from a Segmented Spatial Light Modulator and a Supercontinuum Source" at the OSA Frontier in Optics Meeting in Orlando, FL. In the image above, brilliant full-color images of vortex interference are demonstrated by theory (L) and experiment (R).


May 10, 2013

UNC Physics Grads 2013

Congratulations to the 2013 UNC Physics Grads (L-R): Herve Tonye Tonye, Joe Gasteiger, Audrey Wall, Isaac Lorentz, Travis Day, Albert Einstein (not a UNC grad), Carlos Gallegos, Bronson Pausa, Michael Clay, Richard Pacheco.

March 10, 2013

2013 UNC Physics academic scholars

Congratulations to the 2013 UNC Physics Academic Scholars: Michael Clay & Travis Day (L-R, top) and Karin Ficek & David Garrett (L-R, bottom).

August 23, 2013

supercontinuum optical vortex diffracted through a triangular aperture

An image of a supercontinuum optical vortex diffracted through a triangular aperture from the recent article in JOSA B. Since the extreme spatial chirp is compensated for in the experiment, the topological charge can be determined by counting the spots along each side of the triangle. UNC Physics, SDSU, and Universidade Estadual de Campinas in Brazil teamed up for this work.


June 20, 2012

devils vortex fresnel lens

Images of the Devil's vortex pattern from the recent article in Applied Optics. Experiment (top row) and theory (bottom row) show exquisite agreement. UNC Physics and SDSU teamed up for this work.


June 5, 2012

venus transit public viewing

Above, images from the public viewing of the Venus Transit organized by Prof. Dietz. Below, an image contributed by V. Chaloupka of Santa Fe, NM.

venus transit 2012


May 3, 2012

UNC Physics Grads 2012

Congrats to UNC Physics grads Aaron Adamson, Rob Shiely, Jordan Aken, Maurice Woods, John Arko (L-R), and Rachel Bennet (front)!
Below, distinguished Professor Emeritus Courtney Willis congratulates our grads at the department celebration.

UNC Physics Grads 2012 with WIllis

UNC Physics Grads 2012


April 14, 2012

DemoSat 2012

UNC Physics student Jordan Aken with Dr. Matt Semak at the DemoSat balloon launch.


April 12, 2012

Research Day 2012

Research Day 2012

Research Celebration 2012

UNC Physics students presented their work at the UNC Research Day (top: Rachel Bennet, middle (L-R): Joe Gasteiger & Travis Day), and at the NHS Research Celebration (bottom (L-R): Jordan Aken, Maurice Woods III, Robert Shiely).


March 23, 2012

Physics ASA Awardees

UNC Physics celebrates its 2012 Academic Scholar Award winners! Congratulations to Richard Pacheco, Audrey Wall, Jeremiah Schwartz and Zach Hafen (L-R).


September 19, 2011


Members of the Colorado Space Grant Consortium pose at the University Center at this year's annual meeting.


April 29, 2011

semak pitch

Dr. Semak explores the physics of his wicked split-finger fastball as he throws out the first pitch at the UNC baseball game.


April 8, 2011

UNC Robot

The UNC Robot maneuvers an alien landscape.

UNC Robot Team

Jordan Aken, Aaron Adamson, and Diego Alcala(L-R) recreate a scene from the critically acclaimed film Capricorn One.


February 21, 2011

UNC RockSat Team

The distinguished RockSat Team poses for a photo outside Ross Hall.


December 13, 2010

Physics Grads Fall 2010

Congratulations to our Fall 2010 UNC Physics graduates (L-R): Chris Walker, Motoaki Honda, and Jessica Gage!


June 30, 2010

UNC RockSat Team

Five UNC students designed, built and tested an experiment that measured fuel sloshing during a rocket launch. The students took their experiment to NASA Wallops Island Launch Facility in Virginia where, during a ten-day stay, they conducted additional testing and then integrated their experiment with those from about a dozen other universities. A successful launch and recovery occurred on June 24th. The students working on the project (L-R) were physics majors Sage Andorka, Motoaki Honda, Zach Sears, Maurice Woods, and meteorology major Dan Welsh. The project, called RockSat, was sponsored by the Colorado Space Grant Consortium and NASA, and was supervised by UNC Physics professors Bob Walch, Matt Semak and Cynthia Galovich.


RockSat rocket launch

The RockSat rocket launch from June 24, 2010.

UNC RockSat team cartoon

The intrepid UNC RockSat Team (L-R): Zach Sears, Motoaki Honda, Dan Welsh, Sage Andorka, and Maurice Woods (Cartoon by M. Woods).