Robin Macaluso, Ph. D.

Picture of Robin Macaluso, Ph.D.

  • Associate Professor
  • Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Greeley, CO 80639
  • Office: (970) 351-1282
  • Fax: (970) 351-2533
  • E-mail:

Robin Macaluso, Associate Professor, Ph.D., Louisiana State University, Inorganic Chemistry. Synthesis and characterization of magnetically interesting materials with emphasis on intermetallic and sulfide compounds; X-ray and neutron diffraction; Undergraduate and graduate research.

Research Interests

Our research group is interested in solid-state and materials chemistry of intermetallic and oxide ceramic materials. Our efforts are placed on the synthesis and structural characterization of new rare-earth containing intermetallic compounds and unique chemical substitutions in oxides. Many interesting magnetic or electrical states are time, pressure, or temperature dependent, so our work also involves the use of synchrotron and neutron scattering laboratories to perform detailed studies of crystal structure and its relationship to physical properties.

Awards & Honors

UNC College of Natural & Health Sciences Excellence in Scholarship Award, 2013
Faculty Member of the Game Award (Selected by student athlete to be honored at basketball game), 2011
National Science Foundation CAREER Award, 2010
UNC New Faculty Recognition in Sponsored Programs, 2009
Mortar Board Outstanding Professor Award, 2009
Cottrell College Science Award, 2007
American Chemical Society Young Investigator Award, 2005


April 2013 - Undergrad Kevin Ryan has graduated. Kevin has worked with our group for 2 years and will be pursuing his PhD in solid-state/materials chemistry with Prof. Michael Shatruk at Florida State University.

Kevin & Prof. Shatruk

February 2013
The new WDS for the SEM is here!

Welcome to our new postdoc, Dr. Sau Nguyen!,/p>

January 2013

Dr. Macaluso receives the College of Natural & Health Sciences Excellence in Scholarship Award
NHS Award.

November 2012
Undergraduate student Kevin Ryan receives the College of Natural & Health Sciences Undergraduate Research Award.


group members

Current Group Members
Postdoc - Dr. Sau Nguyen
Graduate –Molly (Jennifer) Anderson
Undergraduate – Kevin Ryan

Former Group Member
Benjamin Greve, Postdoctoral Research Associate
Han-yul Hong (M.S. program)
Kevin Treadway (senior)
Evan Sanders (visiting student from U. Tennessee)
Austin Albert (Class of 2010), Pursuing Ph.D in Inorganic Chemistry at University of Tennessee
Geneva Laurita (Plankis) (Class of 2010), Pursuing Ph.D in Inorganic Chemistry at Oregon State University
Peter Holton (Class of 2010)
Diana Burgy (Cole) (Class of 2009), Pursuing dental school, University of Colorado-Denver
Matthew Goranson (Class of 2007)
Kassandra Trujillo-Sullivan (Class of 2007)


Robin T. Macaluso and Benjamin K. Greve, “Challenges in Intermetallics: Synthesis, Structural Characterization and Transitions”, Dalton Transactions, 41, 14225, (2012).

M. Francisco, C. D. Malliakas, R. T. Macaluso, J. Prestigiacomo, N. Haldolaarachchige, P. W. Adams, D. P. Young, Y. Jia, H. Claus, K. E. Gray, M. Kanatzidis” Journal of the American Chemical Society, 134, 19998 (2012).

R. T. Macaluso, M. Francisco, D.P. Young, S. Stadler, J.F. Mitchell, U.Geiser, H.Hong, M. G. Kanatzidis, “Structure and Properties of Rhombohedral CePd3Ga8: A Variant of the Cubic Parent Compound with BaHg11 Structure Type”, Journal of Solid State Chemistry, 184, 3185 (2011). This article is represented on the issue cover.

T. Siritanon, J. Li, J. Stalick, R. T. Macaluso, A. W. Sleight, M. A. Subramanian, “CsTe2O6-x: Novel Mixed-Valence Tellurium Oxides with Framework-Deficient Pyrochlore-Related Structure”, Inorganic Chemistry, 50, 8494 (2011). DOI: 10.1021/ic2010375.

T. Siritanon, G. Laurita, R. T. Macaluso, J. N. Millican, A. W. Sleight, M. A. Subramanian, “First Observation of Electronic Conductivity in Mixed‐Valence Tellerium Oxides”, Chemistry of Materials, 21, 5572 (2009).

Y. Nambu, R. T. Macaluso, T. Higo, K. Ishida, S. Nakatsuji, “Structural Properties of the Two‐Dimensional Triangular Antiferromagnet NiGa2S4”, Physical Review B, 79, 214108 (2009).

E. A. Goremychkin, R. Osborn, B. D. Rainford, R. T. Macaluso, D. T. Adroja, M. Koza, “Spin Glass Order Induced by Dynamic Frustration”, Nature Physics, 4, 766 (2008).

S. Guo, D. P. Young, R. T. Macaluso, D. A. Browne, N. L. Henderson, J. Y. Chan, L. Henry, J. F. DiTusa, “Discovery of Griffiths Phase in Itinerant Magnetic Semiconductor Fe1‐xCoxS2”, Physical Review Letters, 100, 017209 (2007).



Ionic Radii database