Faculty, Staff and Graduate Students in Chemistry

  • Faculty and Emeritus:
  • Staff in the Department:
  • Graduate Stduents:

Michael D. Mosher, Professor and Chair, Ph.D., Texas Tech University, Organic Chemistry. Synthetic organic chemistry, heterocyclic chemistry of N and O containing molecules, novel syntheses of 2-isozazolines, and anti-cancer drug design.
Email: Michael.Mosher@unco.edu

Kui Chen, Lecturer, Ph.D., University of South Carolina-Columbia, Analytical Chemistry. Nanosensors for reactive oxygen species, gold nanoparticles as tumor inhibitors.
Email: Kui.Chen@unco.edu

Aichun Dong, Professor, Ph.D., Colorado State University, Biochemistry; Editor-in-Chief, International Journal of Biological Macromolecules. Protein structure; structure function relationship; protein folding/unfolding; protein denaturation, stabilization, and formulation; protein infrared database.
E-mail: Aichun.Dong@unco.edu

Robert P. Houser, Assistant Vice President for Research & Executive Director of Sponsored Programs, Professor, Ph.D., University of Minnesota, Inorganic Chemistry. Synthetic inorganic chemistry, bioinorganic chemistry, coordination chemistry, coordination polymers.
E-mail: Robert.Houser@unco.edu

Richard M. Hyslop, Professor, Ph.D., University of Texas, Biochemistry. Metabolism and mechanisms of reactions of immunoactive and antineoplastic agents; drug design; enzymology of calcium-regulated proteins.
E-mail: Richard.Hyslop@unco.edu

Kimberly A. Opperman Pacheco, Professor, Ph.D., University of North Carolina Chapel Hill, Organic Chemistry. Modified silane thin film formation and characterization, prototypes for biosensor devices, force measurements using modified AFM tips, synthesis and characterization of UV-visible photoactive organic molecules, incorporation of nanoscale science into undergraduate curriculum.
Email: Kimberly.Pacheco@unco.edu

David L. Pringle, Professor, Ph.D., Iowa State University, Analytical Chemistry. Application of HPLC and GC to biochemical separations; use of naturally-occurring sulfide minerals as electrode surfaces; development of industrially-based analytical experiments.
E-mail: David.Pringle@unco.edu

Richard W. Schwenz, Professor, Ph.D., Ohio State University, Physical Chemistry. Molecular spectroscopy of transition metal oxides and halides; computer interfacing with laboratory instrumentation, physical chemistry reform.
E-mail: Richard.Schwenz@unco.edu

Youngjin Song, Associate Professor, Ph.D. University of Georgia, Science Education. Elementary Science Education.
E-mail: Youngjin.Song@unco.edu

Jerry P. Suits, Associate Professor, Ph. D., University of Texas at Austin, Chemical Education. Interactive multimedia modules and simulations; computer-interfaced laboratory experiments; student visualization, learning styles, conceptual learning and achievement.
E-mail: Jerry.Suits@unco.edu

Murielle Watzky, Assistant Professor, Ph.D., Wayne State University, Inorganic and Physical Chemistry.
Email: Murielle.Watzky@unco.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Corina E. Brown, Adjunct Lecturer, Ph.D., Chemical Education, University of Northern Colorado.
E-mail: Corina.Brown@unco.edu

Alyssa Webster, Adjunct Lecturer, Ph.D., Organic Chemistry, University of Wyoming
Email: Alyssa.Webster@unco.edu

Professor Emeritus

Clark L. Fields, Professor Emeritus, Ph.D., University of Iowa, Inorganic Chemistry. The chemistry of boron; chemistry and applications of systems irradiated with white light; development of materials and experiments for inorganic chemistry.
E-mail: Clark.Fields@unco.edu

Henry W. Heikkinen, Professor Emeritus, Ph.D., University of Maryland, Chemical Education. The recipient of 2009 George C. Pimentel Award in Chemical Education. Curriculum development and evaluation; in-service teaching programs; student attitudes and representations in chemistry; problem-solving and conceptual change.
E-mail: heikk2000@comcast.net

M. Lynn James, Professor Emeritus, Ph.D., University of Utah, Physical Chemistry. Curriculum studies and curriculum development involving computer applications; use of cooperative learning to the teaching of science.
E-mail: mljames@unco.edu

Loretta L. Jones, Professor Emeritus, Ph.D., D.A. University of Illinois at Chicago, Chemical Education/Physical Chemistry. Instructional applications of video and computer- based technologies; learning environments. 2012 ACS Award for Achievement in Research for the Teaching and Learning of Chemistry.
E-mail: Loretta.Jones@unco.edu

Marcus K. Meilahn, Professor Emeritus, Ph.D., Arizona State University, Organic Chemistry. Asymmetric synthesis; preparation and reactions of haloaziridines; environmental chemistry-ground water contamination.

James O. Schreck, Professor Emeritus, Ph.D., Texas A & M, Organic Chemistry. Development and testing of new laboratory experiments for undergraduate organic chemistry laboratories; development of demonstrations for chemistry and science teaching. 1995 recipient of the Chemical Manufacturers Association Catalyst Award.
E-mail: James.Schreck@unco.edu

Gordon E. Tomasi, Professor Emeritus, Ph.D., University of Louisville, Biochemistry.


Jeanyce Nalley, Administrative Assistant, Jeanyce takes care of the chemistry office's day-to-day management, tracking budgets, ordering office supplies, balancing all the faculty travel cards, assisting students, preparing paperwork and examinations, and planning the events of the Department.
Email: jeanyce.nalley@unco.edu

Tessa Johnson, Laboratory Coordinator, Tessa runs the chemistry stockroom, which includes ordering and maintaining the chemical inventory and laboratory equipment, preparing and tearing down chemistry labs for many of the courses, assisting in grants and workshops that use the chemistry labs, maintaining the laboratory fees budget, supervising undergraduate student workers in the stockroom, and organizing student check-in and check-out of the laboratories.
Email: tessa.johnson@unco.edu

Graduate students in Chemistry and Chemical Education can be reached by sending an email to their first.last@unco.edu email address.

  • Amani Abdugadar, Ph.D. Chemical Education program, Suits
  • Danea Burgess, M.S. Chemistry program, Pacheco
  • Shawn Bydalek, M.S. Chemistry program, Hyslop
  • Joshua Cribbs, M.S. Chemistry program, Hyslop
  • Brent Ferrell, Ph.D Chemical Education program, Barbera
  • Emryse Geye, Ph.D. Chemical Education enroute program, Mosher
  • Cory Hensen, Ph.D. Chemical Education enroute program, Pringle
  • Sean Hoskins, Ph.D. Chemical Education program, Hyslop
  • Sean Johnson, M.S. Chemistry program, Mosher
  • Ahmed Khalefah, M.S. Chemistry program, Houser/Pacheco
  • Victor Kiryak-Kline, Ph.D. Chemical Education program, Barbera
  • Travis Knowles, Ph.D. Chemical Education program, Barbera
  • Elizabeth Maxey, M.S. Chemistry program, Pringle
  • Brittney Morgan, Ph.D. Chemical Education program, undecided
  • Haley Sandoe, M.S. Chemistry program, undecided
  • Amanda Unrein, M.S. Chemistry program, undecided
  • Manjusha Vuppala, M.S. Chemistry program, undecided