Biology faculty and postdocs

Full-time faculty


Rick Adams
Professor
Ross 1540
970-351-2057 (Tel)
rick.adams@unco.edu

Rick Adams

Classes: General biology; Life science concepts; Ecology; Coevolution

Research: Bat population and community dynamics; Ontogeny and ecomorphology of flight in bats.


SueEllen DeChenne
Assistant Professor
Ross 2570
970-351-2004 (Tel)
sue.dechenne@unco.edu

SueEllen DeChenne

Classes: Microbiology, Cellular and Molecular Research Techniques, College Biology Pedagogy

Research: Biology education, teaching and learning in large classroom environments, classroom-based research experience, student argumentation


Gregory DeKrey
Associate Professor
Ross 2516
970-351-2493 (Tel)
gregory.dekrey@unco.edu

Gregory DeKrey

Classes:  Pharmacology; Immunology; Pathobiology; Cell biology

Research:  Drug and chemical toxicology; Immune regulation and disease resistance


Lauryn Benedict
Associate Professor
Ross 2546
970-351-3364 (Tel)
lauryn.benedict@unco.edu

Lauryn Benedict

Classes: Animal Behavior; Organismal Biology; Ornithology

Research: Animal communication and social behavior; Ornithology


Patrick Burns
Associate Professor
Ross 1516
970-351-2695 (Tel)
patrick.burns@unco.edu

Patrick Burns

Classes: Endocrinology; Cell physiology; Anatomy & Physiology

Research: Prostaglandin metabolism in reproductive tissues.


Ginger Fisher
Assistant Professor
Director, MBS Program
Ross 1526
970-351-2210 (Tel)
ginger.fisher@unco.edu

Ginger Fisher

Classes: General biology; Marine biology; Scientific writing

Research: Marine biology; Biology pedagogy


Scott Franklin
Professor
Ross 1510
970-351-2650 (Tel)
scott.franklin@unco.edu

Scott Franklin

Classes: Ecology; Organismal biology; Scientific writing

Research:  Plant community responses to environmental disturbance; Flood and fire ecology.


Karen Gomez
Assistant Professor
Ross 1550
970-351-2555 (Tel)
susana.gomez@unco.edu

Karen Gomez

Classes:  Plant physiology; Cell/molecular biology

Research:  Plant biology including genomics, physiology, plant-insect interactions, and mycorrhizal symbiosis.


James Haughian
Instructor
Ross 1546
970-351-2716 (Tel)
james.haughian@unco.edu

James Haughian

Classes: General biology; Anatomy & Physiology; Cancer biology; Molecular genetics

Research: Molecular biology of cancer.


Ann Hawkinson
Instructor
Ross 1530
970-351-1176 (Tel)
ann.hawkinson@unco.edu

Ann Hawkinson

Classes:  General biology; Physiology; Microbiology

Research:  Virus-host interactions, immune response to infection, bacteriology related to anti-cancer therapy.


Teresa Higgins
Associate Professor
Ross 2526
970-351-2617 (Tel)
teresa.higgins@unco.edu

Teresa Higgins

Classes: Elementary science methods; Principles of scientific inquiry; K-12 science curriculum

Research:  Elementary Science and Biology Education


Emily Holt
Associate Professor
Ross 2520
970-351-4870
emily.holt@unco.edu

Emily Holt

Classes: Plant Systematics

Research: Biology Education; Plant and Lichen Ecology and Community Analysis


Andrea James
Assistant Professor
Ross 2536
970-351-3521
andrea.james@unco.edu

Andrea James

Classes: Cell Biology; Molecular Genetics

Research: Cell Biology


Susan Keenan
School Director, Professor
Ross 2480c
970-351-2510 (Tel)
susan.keenan@unco.edu

Susan Keenan

Classes:  Bioinformatics; Molecular genetics; Cell physiology

Research:  Computational methodologies applied to the discovery of novel antimalarial and antiviral compounds


Roxaneh Khorsand
Visiting Assistant Professor
Ross 2590
970-351-1282 (Tel)
roxaneh.khorsand@unco.edu

Roxaneh Khorsand

Classes: Exploring Biology; Ecology; Scientific Writing; Conservation of Natural Resources

Research: Plant reproductive ecology; plant-animal interactions; plant phenological responses to climate change


Judith Leatherman
Associate Professor
Ross 2510
970-351-2453 (Tel)
judith.leatherman@unco.edu

Judith Leatherman

Classes: Genetics; Developmental biology

Research: Molecular mechanisms of stem cell regulation


Stephen Mackessy
Professor
Ross 2540
970-351-2429 (Tel)
stephen.mackessy@unco.edu

Steve Mackessy

Classes:  Herpetology; Parasitology; Mammalogy; Comp. vertebrate  morphology

Research: Herpetology and population ecology/ genetics; Venom biochemistry and biological role.


Mitchell McGlaughlin
Associate Professor
Ross 1560
970-351-2139 (Tel)
Mitchell.McGlaughlin@unco.edu

 Mit McGlaughlin

Classes: Population Genetics; Plant systematics;Evolution; Species and speciation​

Research: Plant phylogeography and adaptive evolution; Conservation genetics; Plant speciation.


Melanie Peffer
Assistant Professor
Ross 1556
970-351-2923
melanie.peffer@unco.edu

Melanie Peffer

 Classes: Exploring Biology; Cell Physiology

 Research: Interdisciplinary biology education


Nicholas Pullen
Assistant Professor
Ross 2550
970-351-1843
nicholas.pullen@unco.edu

Nicholas Pullen

 Classses: Principles of Biology; Mammalian Physiology;

Research: Inflammatory processes in cancer, allergy, and wound healing; immune cell development


Robert Reinsvold
Associate Professor
Ross 1560
970-351-2139 (Tel)
robert.reinsvold@unco.edu

Robert Reinsvold

Classes: Biological education; Ecology; Evolution; Organismal biology; Morphology of Algae & Fungi

Research: Mycology/fungal ecology; Botanical education; Teacher preparation.


Mark Thomas
Associate Professor
Ross 2530
970-351-2329 (Tel)
mark.thomas@unco.edu

Mark Thomas

Classes:  Anatomy & Physiology; Mammalian physiology; Neurophysiology

Research:  Neurobiology of brain dopamine systems; schizophrenia; Parkinson's disease.


Emeritus faculty, postdocs, and part-time faculty

Emeritus faculty

Warren Buss
Emeritus faculty
Expertise: Plant physiology
warren.buss@unco.edu

Warren Buss


Catherine Gardiner
Emeritus faculty
Expertise: Reproductive toxicology
catherine.gardiner@unco.edu

Kitty Gardiner


 

Margaret Heimbrook
Emeritus faculty
Expertise: Microbiology
margaret.heimbrook@unco.edu

Margaret Heimbrook


Kathleen Jones
Emeritus faculty
Expertise: Anatomy & physiology
kathleen.jones@unco.edu

Kathleen Jones


Charles Olmstead
Emeritus faculty
Expertise: Environmental studies
charles.olmsted@unco.edu

Charles Olmstead


Gerald Saunders
Emeritus faculty
Expertise: Biological education
gerald.saunders@unco.edu

Gerry Saunders


 

Postdocs and part-time faculty

Heather Rudolph
Postdoc
Ross Hall 2279B
970-351-1511 (Tel)
heather.rudolph@unco.edu

Heather Rudolf