UNC Faculty to be Recognized for Research, Scholarly Work

The University of Northern Colorado's Faculty Research and Publications Board, College Deans, and the Office of Sponsored Programs will recognize faculty achievement in research and other academic pursuits at the Distinguished Scholar Luncheon on Thursday, April 12.

Nine faculty will be presented with awards.

Janice M. Payan, professor of Marketing, will receive the 2012 A.M. and Jo Winchester Distinguished Scholar award — given annually to a faculty member who's consistently demonstrated outstanding scholarly performance.

Awards for college scholars will be presented to: Rick Adams, professor of Biological Sciences; Joseph French, assistant professor of Finance; Deborah Kauffman, professor of Music History and Literature; José I. Suárez, professor of Hispanic Studies; Stephanie Wiegand, Health Sciences Reference Librarian at the University Libraries; Linda Vogel, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies.

In addition, Deanna Meinke, associate professor of Audiology and Speech-Language Sciences, will receive the Outstanding Achievement in Sponsored Programs Award. Rashida Banerjee, assistant professor and early childhood special education program coordinator in the School of Special Education, will receive the Sponsored Programs New Faculty Recognition Award.

About the recipients:

  • Janice Payan's research interests include influence, cooperation, coordination in inter-organizational contexts, marketing pedagogy, marketing ethics and cross-cultural research. She's the recipient of the John A. Howard American Marketing Association Doctoral Dissertation Award (2000), the Monfort College of Business' Business Scholar of the Year Award (2005, 2007 and 2009), and MCB Business Teacher of the Year (2010). She was recently awarded the Fulbright-Vienna University of Economics and Business Administration Distinguished Chair. She previously served as a marketing executive with a large communications company.
  • Rick Adams is a foremost authority on the ecology and evolution of bats. He has recently shown for the first time that the tail-membrane in bats provides a significant thrust component to flight unlike that observed in any other flying vertebrate. For more about Adams, visit http://www.unco.edu/news/releases.aspx?id=3713.
  • Joseph French's recent research focused on developing econometric models to understand the dynamic simultaneous impact of foreign equity flows on financial markets. Using a unique data set from the Johannesburg stock exchange, he modeled the impact of foreign capital on returns of the South African Market. He also studied the impact of foreign equity capital on U.S. equity markets. French also has constructed an index to track the Indian real estate market and modeled the interaction between that index and macroeconomic variables. He also developed a theoretical model to understand the role that institutional identity plays in the degree of ethical augmentation of product lines.
  • Deborah Kauffman serves as editor-in-chief of the international Journal of Musicological Research. Her areas of specialty include French Baroque sacred music and the musical repertory of the Madison de Saint-Louis at Saint-Cyr, about which she is working on a book. Her publications include two monograph editions of music for A-R Editions, the most recent of which will appear this summer and features 17th-century musical settings of the Cantiques spirituels by poet and playwright Jean Racine.
  • José I. Suárez has published more than 40 scholarly works in refereed journals and four books. Among his book publications and co-publications on literature are The Carnival Stage: Vicentine Comedy within the Serio-Comic Mode, Gil Vicente's "The Play of Rubena," and Mário de Andrade: The Creative Works. He's the 2010 recipient of the Winchester Scholar Award.
  • Stephanie Wiegand's research interests include collection development in the health sciences, ethics in librarianship, peer-to-peer education, and student-created videos as educational tools.
  • Linda Vogel has been at UNC in the Educational Leadership and Policy Studies program for nine years, serving as the program coordinator for the past four years and Leadership department chair for the past three. Her research areas include the leadership of standards-based educational reform, education policy, Native American educational leadership preparation, and school reform.
  • Deanna Meinke conducts research on the early detection and prevention of noise-induced hearing loss across the lifespan. She chairs the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health "Safe-in-Sound Expert Committee," which recognizes occupational hearing loss prevention programs. She's past president of the National Hearing Conservation Association and the Colorado Academy of Audiology. Meinke is in the final year of a 3-year, $435,161 grant funded by the Office of Naval Research with colleagues at Dartmouth. She also collaborated with colleagues on "Dangerous Decibels" educator training workshops held in the U.S., Canada and New Zealand.
  • Rashida Banerjee promotes quality services for young children with disabilities and their families in early intervention/early childhood programs. Her research areas and interests include: effective inclusive intervention for young children with multiple and severe disabilities; teacher preparation and effective community, family, and professional partnerships. She is an alumna of the Ford Foundation International Fellowships program.

For more information, visit the Office of Sponsored Programs online at: http://www.unco.edu/osp/ or http://www.unco.edu/osp/news/dslunch.html.