International Residence Hall Organization Names UNC School of the Year

Members of the UNC RHA delegation pose with their hardware, including the School of the Year award. Clockwise, from left: Christina Schwiderski, Viggo "Kris" Skelton, Leslie Baughman, Sadie Downs, Alberto Gonzales, Savvy Morris, Shannon Mulqueen, Tyson Thornburg and Rebecca Smith.

The University of Northern Colorado has been named school of the year by the National Association of College and University Residence Halls, the largest student-run organization in the world.

The award was presented to students in UNC's Residence Hall Association (RHA) and their advisor, Christina Schwiderski, during the association's annual conference at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire.

In selecting UNC for the school of the year award, the national association evaluated RHA and its host department (Residential Education) on a number of criteria, including RHA goals, programming and community outreach — which included volunteering to help with area flood relief initiatives last September. The 30-page bid was written by UNC sophomore Shannon Mulqueen, who also won the NACURH Communications Coordinator of the Year Award. Leslie Baughman also won NRHH Student of the Year

UNC was last selected as the school of the year in 2010. The Intermountain Affiliate of College and University Residence Halls has recognized UNC with seven regional school of the year awards (1983, 1984, 1985, 1987, 2003, 2004 and 2010).

RHA executive board members for 2013-2014 were: Alicia Martinez, president; Angela Wirsching, National Residence Hall Honorary president; Shannon Mulqueen, NACURH communications coordinator; Raye Sims, social and traditional events coordinator; Regan Teagarden, business administration and technology coordinator; and Katie Barglowski, public relations and fundraising coordinator.