Friends of the UNC Libraries

About

The Friends of the University of Northern Colorado Libraries was founded on February 23, 1973. The organization has contributed to the financial welfare of the Libraries, encouraged area artists to exhibit their talents, sponsored receptions for visiting artists and speakers, and organized fundraising projects. Documentation relating to the history of Friends of the UNC Libraries and the Mari Michener Art Gallery can be found at the University Archives.

Mission Statement

The mission of the Friends of the UNC Libraries is to support and promote the significance and usefulness of the UNC Libraries across the campus and within the local community and region.

Five Purposes

  • To promote the growth and usefulness of the University Libraries.
  • To increase community interest in developing unique library resources.
  • To attract bequests and gifts of books, manuscripts, and appropriate materials.
  • To sponsor exhibits, programs, and other events.
  • To promote the significance of the University Libraries.

Officers

Co-Chair
Mary Adams
maryadel@comcast.net

Co-Chair
Barry Rothaus
barry.rothaus@gmail.com

Treasurer
Bernie Kinnick
bernie.kinnick@comcast.net

Book Sale Coordinator
Laurie Guthmann
laurie.guthmann@comcast.net

Mari Michener Art Gallery Coordinator
Colette Pitcher
cpit590937@aol.com

Dean of University Libraries
Helen Reed
helen.reed@unco.edu

Libraries Liaison
Rachel Borum
rachel.borum@unco.edu

Communications / Historian
Eve Measner
measner@msn.com

At-Large Member
Carolyn Cooke
carocooke@hotmail.com

At-Large Member
Barbara Reale
realebarb19@comcast.net

At-Large Member
Kenneth Weaver
interweaver@greeleynet.com

Past Presidents

2012 - 2016, Sheila Bolsover

2003 - 2012, John Dietz

2001 - 2003, Shirley Soenksen

2000 - 2001, Peggy Ford

1999 - 2000, Shirley Soenksen

1995 - 1999, Jim Riesberg

1993 - 1995, Janet Jerome

1991 - 1993, Peggy Griffith

1989 - 1991, Rhoten Smith

1987 - 1989, Rose Mary Koob

1985 - 1987, Dorothy Baker

1983 - 1985, Virginia Strong

1981 - 1983, Catherine Yoder

1979 - 1981, Susan Platz

1977 - 1979, Pauline Smillie

1975 - 1977, Vi Darst

1973 - 1975, Peggy Koplitz