Student Advising

Undergraduate Student Advising

Incoming freshmen will register for their first semester of classes at New Student Orientation. After that, each semester students will be expected to meet with their advisor prior to registration. For more information, contact the department or program.

Advising for Transfer & Non-Traditional Students

Online orientation supports the transfer and non-traditional student acclimation to UNC. Completing the program will give students some practical resources to get started and will help set up a successful transition to campus. Students will receive an email in their BearMail account from orientation@unco.edu with a link to access the online orientation within a week of being admitted to UNC. All incoming transfer students are required to complete online orientation.

After online orientation is completed, the next step is academic advising. This page will help you navigate who to contact for advising based on major.

Depending on the student’s major, they will either need to come to an in-person session for advising and fall course registration or they should contact their advisor. Details are listed below by major. All students can attend the in-person Transfer and Non-Traditional Welcome.

For more information, or if you have reached out to an advisor and have not heard a response within a week, please contact:

Deborah Lewis
Email: Deborah.Lewis@unco.edu 
Phone: (970) 351-2706

Advising Contacts by Major

Major

On-Campus
Advising Required

Contact Information

Africana Studies

No

Travis Boyce
Phone: (970) 351-2392
Email: Travis.Boyce@unco.edu

Anthropology

No

Sally McBeth
Phone: (970) 351-1746 
Email: Sally.McBeth@unco.edu 

Asian Studies

Yes

Michelle Low
Phone: (970) 351-1366 
Email: Michelle.Low@unco.edu

Communication
Studies

Yes

Thomas Endres
Phone: (970) 351-1507 
Email: Thomas.Endres@unco.edu

Criminology & Criminal Justice

Yes

Meagan Burkholder 
Phone: (970) 351-4687 
Email: Meagan.Burkholder@unco.edu

Economics

No

Christine Marston
Phone: (970) 351-1557
Email: Christine.Marston@unco.edu

English

Yes

Joonok Huh
Phone: (970) 351-1577
Email: Joonok.Huh@unco.edu

Foreign Languages
(French)

 Yes

Lorie Sauble-Otto 
Phone: (970) 351-1260 
Email: Lorie Sauble-Otto@unco.edu

Foreign Languages
(German)

 Yes

David Caldwell 
Phone: (970) 351-1575 
Email: David.Caldwell@unco.edu

Geography & GIS

Yes

James Dunn 
Phone: (970) 351-2834 
Email: James.Dunn@unco.edu

History

No

Steven Seegel
Phone: (970) 351-2082
E-mail: Steven.Seegel@unco.edu

International Affairs

Yes

Stan Luger 
Phone: (970) 351-1584 
E-mail: Stan.Luger@unco.edu

Journalism & Media
Studies

Yes

Thomas Endres 
Phone: (970) 351-1507 
Email: Thomas.Endres@unco.edu

Mexican American
Studies

Yes

Priscilla Falcón 
Phone: (970) 351.2162
Email: Priscilla.Falcon@unco.edu

Philosophy

No

Nancy Matchett
Phone: (970) 351-1567 
E-mail: Nancy.Matchett@unco.edu

Political Science

Yes

Stan Luger 
Phone: (970) 351-1584 
E-mail: Stan.Luger@unco.edu

Sociology

No

Kyle Anne Nelson
Phone: (970) 351-2592 
E-mail: Kyle.Nelson@unco.edu

Online Degree Completion:
Sandra Harmon
Phone: (970) 351-2307
E-mail: Sandra.Harmon@unco.edu

Spanish

Yes

Efrain Garza 
Phone: (970) 351.1765
Email: Efrain.Garza@unco.edu