Diversity in the Classroom Award


The College of Humanities and Social Sciences (HSS)* Diversity Advisory Board is calling for nominations to nominate a faculty member for the 2015-2016 "Diversity in the Classroom" Award. We are looking for HSS faculty who, in a given HSS course taught online or face-to-face in Summer, Fall, Winter interim, or Spring 2015-2016, excelled in any or all of the following areas:

  • demonstrating inclusive teaching philosophies and practices.
  • consistently incorporating diversity into their curriculum.
  • enhancing students’ understanding of diversity broadly in terms of race, ethnicity, gender, nationality, ability, age, religion, region, sexuality, class, etc.
  • maintaining a comfortable classroom atmosphere that helps students express diverse views
  • encouraging learning about and appreciating diversity beyond the classroom

To nominate a faculty member, please fill out the nomination form as thoroughly as possible, paying particular attention to addressing how your nominee meets and/or exceeds the above criteria. Nominations are due to teh HSS Dean's Office, CAND 0215, by 5:00 PM on March 11, 2016. Forms may also be submitted electronically to: Meagan.Crews@unco.edu.

Diversity in the Classroom Nomination Form

Courses in HSS include:
Africana Studies (AFS)
Anthropology (ANT)
Asian Studies (ASIA)
Chinese (CHIN)
Communication Studies (COMM)
Criminal Justice (CRJ)
Economics (ECON)
English (ENG)
Film (FILM)
French (FR)
Gender Studies (GNDR)
Geography (GEOG)
German (GER)
Hispanic Studies (HISP)
History (HIST)
Humanities (HUM)
Japanese (JAPN)
Journalism and Mass Communications (JMC)
Mexican-American Studies (MAS)
Multicultural Studies (MCS)
Philosophy (PHIL)
Political Science (PSCI)
Social Science (SS)
Sociology (SOSC)
Spanish (SPAN)
Teaching English as a Second Language (TESL)

Members of the HSS Diversity Advisory Board are not eligible for nominations.  Members include: Christine Marston, Associate Dean of HSS; Christiane Olivo, Associate Professor, Political Science; Christine Talbot, Coordinator, Gender Studies. Past winners will not be eligible to receive the Diversity in the Classroom Award within 4 years of winning previous award. GA’s & TA’s are not eligible to receive the award. 

View the Candalaria Mural