The principal investigator of this project was Dr. David W. Crumpacker, Emeritus Professor, Department of Environmental, Population, and Organismic Biology, University of Colorado, Boulder.


The co-principal investigators of this project were Carol McLaren, Director, Science Discovery, School of Education, University of Colorado, Boulder, and Dr. James Doerner, Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Geography, University of Northern Colorado and Coordinator, Colorado Geographic Alliance.


Principal funding for this project was provided by the National Geographic Society through the Colorado Geography Education Fund.


Karen Hyde Edgerly, Teacher and Special Projects Coordinator, Science Discovery, University of Colorado, Boulder, coordinated, and wrote parts of, the curriculum, and organized teacher workshops.


Amy Lavender, GIS Program Coordinator, Colorado Natural Heritage Program, created the maps and tables. Without her expertise in GIS and other valuable knowledge, the current version of maps and curriculum could not have been completed.


The following teachers contributed their time, knowledge, and expertise in their fields:  

Rick Gindele, geography teacher, Smoky Hill High School, Aurora

Tony Hurt, geography teacher, Heritage High School, Littleton

Joe Lechuga, science teacher, Regis Jesuit High School, Aurora

Frank Mayer, science teacher, Arapahoe High School, Littleton

Martha Riley, geography teacher, Eaglecrest High School, Aurora

Joanne Smith, science teacher, Horizon High School, Westminster

Anne Tweed, science teacher, Eaglecrest High School, Aurora

Steve Wanner, geography teacher, Boulder High School, Boulder

Judy Williams, science teacher, John F. Kennedy High School, Denver


We would like to thank the following people for their support and contributions to this project:  

Bill Broderick and Travis Reynolds, Regional Planners, Denver Regional Council of Governments

Dr. David Buckner, Esco Associates

Debbie Lerch Cushman, Metro Area Education Coordinator, Colorado Division of Wildlife

Dr. Jonathan Friedman, Hydrologist, US Geological Survey, Fort Collins Science Center

Anna Hunt, Teacher, Science Discovery, University of Colorado, Boulder

Dr. Joseph Kerski, Geographer Education/GIS, United States Geological Survey

Debra Kulcsar, Teacher and Camp Director, Science Discovery, University of Colorado, Boulder

Ryan Monello, Natural Resource Specialist, National Park Service, Rocky Mountain National Park

Dr. Timothy Seastedt, Professor, Department of EPO Biology, University of Colorado, Boulder

Mary Sweet, Sweet Design, Boulder


We would also like to thank the following organizations for their support of to this project:  

Colorado Division of Wildlife 

Colorado Geographic Alliance 

Colorado Geography Education Fund 

Colorado Natural Heritage Program 

Denver Regional Council of Governments 

ESRI (Environmental Systems Research Institute, Inc.) 

IBM Corporation  

The McGraw-Hill Companies  

National Park Service

Natural Resources Conservation Service, U.S. Dept. of Agriculture

United States Geological Survey

United States Forest Service

Photos on the cover where taken by Tanya Shenk