About the Ed Kearns Scholarship

Ed KearnsContact:
Dr. Marcus Embry

Ed Kearns served UNC as a faculty member in the Department of English from 1966 to 2000. Though Ed taught many different courses at all levels of the curriculum, he was particularly noted for his contributions to the first-year writing program. He regularly taught freshmen composition courses, and trained many of our current composition instructors. He was also responsible for eradicating that scourge of the UNC graduating senior – the English Essay Examination. After a successful career, Ed retired in 2000 and passed away in 2004.

In his honor, Joonok Huh, Chair of the Department of English from 2000 until 2008, and Evelyn Kearns, Ed’s widow, established the Ed Kearns Scholarship, which is administered by Sharron Riesberg, an instructor in English. The $500 scholarship is awarded each spring to the freshman student who produces the best essay in a section of ENG 122 (College Composition). English composition instructors submit their best student essays to the English Scholarship Committee, whose members select the winner. The 2012 winners are Nick Alspaugh with the essay "Personal Event" and Donovan Anderson with "Deluge of Wisdom." Past winners include Eliza Howards (2011), Christa Huffman (2010), and Samantha Smits (2009).

Sharron Reisberg's Opening remarksEvelyn Kearns Presents award to the 2011 Winner Eliza

Professors Lisa Zimmerman and Nic Brown

Student Writer Presenting