EII Cabinet

The Education Innovation Institute relies on guidance from an advisory cabinet of accomplished educators, thinkers and policy innovators. This group generously provides advice on policy issues and suggests projects for the institute to pursue.

David ConleyDavid T. Conley

David T. Conley is a professor of educational policy and leadership at the University of Oregon. He is founder and director of the Center for Educational Policy Research and founder and CEO of the Educational Policy Improvement Center, both at U of O. Much of his work has focused on college readiness and in 2003, he completed Standards for Success, a three-year project that analyzed course content at a range of American research universities to develop the Knowledge and Skills for University Success standards. He also has developed adequacy-funding models for several states. His earlier work also includes K-12 teaching and administrative posts in Colorado and California.

Robert DickesonRobert Dickeson

Robert Dickeson has served as a senior vice-president at the Lumina Foundation for Education, a senior counsel on higher education to Widmeyer Communications, senior vice-president at USA Group, president and CEO of Noel-Levitz Centers, president of the University of Northern Colorado, cabinet chair for Arizona Governor Bruce Babbitt, and chief of staff to Colorado Governor Roy Romer. He chaired blue-ribbon commissions appointed by three governors in two states, has been an officer of 30 corporate, government, foundation or public affairs organizations, and served as Colorado commissioner to the Education Commission of the States. He also has written widely on higher education.

Shannon HagermanShannon Hagerman

Shannon Hagerman is director of the Denver Teacher Residency, an intensive teacher-training program based in the Denver Public Schools. Before coming to DTR she was the executive director of innovation schools for Denver Public Schools and served seven years as principal of the Montclair School of Academics & Enrichment in DPS, the first elementary school in Colorado to be granted innovation status by the Colorado Board of Education. She also has worked as a specialist in educational technology and taught elementary school.


Frederick HessFrederick Hess

Frederick Hess is a resident scholar and director of education policy studies at the American Enterprise Institute. He also is an executive editor of Education Next and serves on the review board for the Broad Prize in Urban Education, and on the boards of directors of the National Association of Charter School Authorizers and the American Board for the Certification of Teaching Excellence. He is a former high school social studies teacher and has taught at several universities. A regular blogger for Education Week and contributor to national periodicals, he has written several books on education.

Mike JohnstonMike Johnston

Mike Johnston is a Colorado state senator who taught high school English in Greenville, Miss., served as principal of two alternative high schools in Colorado and co-founded New Leaders for New Schools, a national non-profit that recruits and trains urban principals. With graduate degrees in education and law, he has been an adjunct professor of education law at the University of Denver and has advised state and federal political campaigns around the country, most recently as a top education advisor to Barack Obama's 2008 presidential campaign and transition.

Dwight JonesDwight Jones

Dwight Jones is the former superintendent of the Clark County School District in Las Vegas. Before going to Las Vegas he was state Commissioner of Education in Colorado. Earlier jobs included elementary school teacher, assistant principal, principal, and superintendent in Junction City, Kansas; superintendent of the Fountain-Fort Carson School District in Colorado; operational vice-president of Edison Schools in Maryland, Kansas, and Missouri; and assistant superintendent of Wichita Public Schools in Kansas.  He also has been active with the Council for Chief State School Officers and the Southwest Comprehensive Center at WestEd.

Holly Kuzmich Holly Kuzmich

Holly Kuzmich is the vice president and chief operating officer of Margaret Spellings and Company, and a leading authority on the No Child Left Behind Act (NCLB) from inception to implementation. Her earlier work includes service as assistant secretary for legislation and congressional affairs and deputy chief of staff for policy and programs at the U.S. Department of Education, associate director for education with the White House Domestic Policy Council and a professional staff member on education, welfare, and social policy issues for Sen. Tim Hutchinson, a member of the Senate Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions Committee.

Monte MosesMonte Moses

Monte Moses is an education consultant who previously served as superintendent of the Cherry Creek School District in Colorado and as an administrator with school districts in Littleton, Colorado, Garland, Texas, and Casper, Wyoming. He also was on the education faculty at Murray State University in Kentucky. His current and past board and commission service includes work with the Colorado Commission on Higher Education, the AVID Board of Directors, ASCD advisory board on the whole child, Colorado Race to the Top committee, Colorado P-20 Council, the Western States Benchmarking Consortium, and advisory boards for ACT and the College Board.

Marlene SeltzerMarlene Seltzer

Marlene Seltzer is president and CEO of Jobs for the Future, which, in concert with partners, seeks to double the number of low-income youth and adults who earn postsecondary credentials or get training to advance toward family-sustaining careers over the next decade. Her previous posts include commissioner of the Massachusetts Department of Employment and Training; president of Seltzer Associates, a for-profit consulting firm whose clients included the U.S. Department of Labor; and co-founder and president of Employment Resources, Inc., a nonprofit, community-based workforce development organization. She also has served on several advisory boards.