Biology Faculty

Page Menu: Full-time faculty | Part-time and Emeritus faculty

Full-time faculty

Name and contact information Research areas Teaching areas
Rick AdamsRick Adams
Professor
Ross 1540
970-351-2057 (Tel)
rick.adams@unco.edu
Bat population and community dynamics; Ontogeny and ecomorphology of flight in bats. General biology;
Life science concepts; Ecology;
Coevolution
Lauryn BenedictLauryn Benedict
Assistant Professor
Ross 2546
970-351-3364 (Tel)
lauryn.benedict@unco.edu
Animal communication and social behavior Animal Behavior;
Organismal Biology
Patrick BurnsPatrick Burns
Assistant Professor
Ross 1516
970-351-2695 (Tel)
patrick.burns@unco.edu
Prostaglandin metabolism in reproductive tissues. Endocrinology;
Cell physiology;
Anatomy & Physiology
SueEllen DeChenneSueEllen DeChenne
Assistant Professor
Ross 2570
970-351-2004 (Tel)
sue.dechenne@unco.edu
   
Gregory DeKreyGregory DeKrey
Associate Professor
Ross 2516
970-351-2493 (Tel)
gregory.dekrey@unco.edu
Drug and chemical toxicology; Immune regulation and disease resistance Pharmacology;
Immunology;
Cell biology
Ginger FisherGinger Fisher
Instructor
MBS Program Coordinator
Ross 1526
970-351-2210 (Tel)
ginger.fisher@unco.edu
Marine biology General biology;
Scientific writing
Scott FranklinScott Franklin
Associate Professor
Ross 1510
970-351-2650 (Tel)
scott.franklin@unco.edu
Plant community responses to environmental disturbance; Flood and fire ecology. Ecology;
Organismal biology;
Scientific writing
Seth FrietzeSeth Frietze
Assistant Professor
Ross 2550
970-351-3521 (Tel)
seth.frietze@unco.edu
   
Catherine GardinerCatherine Gardiner
Professor
Ross 2536
970-351-1843 (Tel)
catherine.gardiner@unco.edu
Reproductive Toxicology; Pre-implantation embryo development; Oxidative stress. General biology;
Genetics; Cell physiology; Reproductive & developmental biol.
Karen GomezKaren Gomez
Assistant Professor
Ross 1550
970-351-2555 (Tel)
susana.gomez@unco.edu
Plant biology including genomics, physiology, plant-insect interactions, and mycorrhizal symbiosis. Plant physiology.
Ann HawkinsonJames Haughian
Instructor
Ross 1546
970-351-2716 (Tel)
james.haughian@unco.edu
  General biology.
Ann HawkinsonAnn Hawkinson
Instructor
Ross 1530
970-351-1176 (Tel)
ann.hawkinson@unco.edu
  General biology;
Physiology;
Microbiology
Teresa HigginsTeresa Higgins
Associate Professor
Ross 2526
970-351-2617 (Tel)
teresa.higgins@unco.edu
Elementary Science and Biology Education Elementary science methods; Principles of scientific inquiry;
K-12 science curriculum
Richard JurinRichard Jurin
Associate Professor
Ross 2480
970-351-2220 (Tel)
richard.jurin@unco.edu
Bio-education; Environmental Affairs. General biology;
Biological education;
Environmental studies
Susan KeenanSusan Keenan
School Director, Associate Professor
Ross 2480c
970-351-2510 (Tel)
susan.keenan@unco.edu
Computational methodologies applied to the discovery of novel antimalarial and antiviral compounds Bioinformatics;
Molecular genetics;
Cell physiology
Judith LeathermanJudith Leatherman
Assistant Professor
Ross 2510
970-351-2453 (Tel)
judith.leatherman@unco.edu
Molecular mechanisms of stem cell regulation Genetics
Steve MackessyStephen Mackessy
Professor
Ross 2540
970-351-2429 (Tel)
stephen.mackessy@unco.edu
Herpetology and population ecology/ genetics; Venom biochemistry and biological role. Herpetology;
Parasitology;
Mammalogy;
Comp. vertebrate morphology
Mitchell McGlaughlinMitchell McGlaughlin
Associate Professor
Ross 1560
970-351-2139 (Tel)
Mitchell.McGlaughlin@unco.edu
Plant phylogeography and adaptive evolution; Conservation genetics; Plant speciation. Population Genetics;
Plant systematics;
Evolution; Species and speciation
Robert ReinsvoldRobert Reinsvold
Associate Professor
Ross 1536
970-351-3076 (Tel)
robert.reinsvold@unco.edu
Mycology/fungal ecology, botanical education, teacher preparation. Biological education; Ecology;
Evolution; Organismal biology;
Morphology of Algae & Fungi
Mark ThomasMark Thomas
Associate Professor
Ross 2530
970-351-2329 (Tel)
mark.thomas@unco.edu
Neurobiology of brain dopamine systems; schizophrenia; Parkinson's disease. Anatomy & Physiology;
Mammalian physiology;
Neurophysiology;

Part-time and Emeritus faculty

Part-time faculty
Emeritus faculty
John Doherty
Lecturer
john.doherty@unco.edu
Warren BussWarren Buss
warren.buss@unco.edu

Expertise: Plant physiology
Donald Hazlett
Lecturer
donald.hazlett@unco.edu
Margaret HeimbrookMargaret Heimbrook
margaret.heimbrook@unco.edu

Expertise: Microbiology
Kate Williamson
Lecturer
kate.williamson@unco.edu
Kathleen JonesKathleen Jones
kathleen.jones@unco.edu

Expertise: Anatomy & physiology
  Charles OlmsteadCharles Olmstead
charles.olmsted@unco.edu

Expertise: Environmental studies
  Gerry SaundersGerald Saunders
gerald.saunders@unco.edu

Expertise: Biological education
Cells